We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of Lewes Bake Shoppe - CLOSED

Lewes Bake Shoppe
Description: (302) 645-0733
Restaurant details
Description: (302) 645-0733
PA
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here this morning for coffee and pastries. The woman that helped us engaged us in conversation, accomodated our rather large order and gave us 100% of her attention even though other patrons stood behind us. She was very warm, calling us hun and making sure we were happy with our experience. She grinded some coffee beans for us to take along home. The coffee and pastries were delicious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrishbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    37
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Coffee and Pastries”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Great atmosphere, excellent pastries, and great coffee. Went to the shoppe at opening in the morning, and a good conversation with friendly local residents while eating blueberry croissant and coffee.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank pipehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice.”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Coffee roasted on-site. Local pastries and snacky foods. Perfect for a fall weekend walking tour of Lewes. Very nice staff. The coffee isn't what I would call strong. Of course, they do offer espresso and so on. That said, the coffee on tap had absolutely no bitterness. Several varietals, organics, house blends, all tasty.

Cozy, and clearly a local favorite. I really enjoyed it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevek81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Hot Chocolate To Go!”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I always stop in the Lewes Bake Shoppe when I'm in town. My last visit took place on a very cold day. I got a hot chocolate with some raspberry syrup in it. Delicious! Over the years it seems that the Bake Shoppe seating area has gotten smaller. Perhaps that's only because so many people stop in. On the day that I was there, a group of at least six people were standing and chatting in the aisle which leads to the counter. It was difficult to get through, and I saw some people come in and walk out again because they had a hard time getting through the throng of people.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank All_Things_English
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Freshly roasted coffee and friendly service.”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a tiny space and it tends to be very warm. That being said, a variety of coffees and other specialty drinks are expertly made to order by friendly faces and the baked goods looked tasty, too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DMynar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing