We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Italian Perfection in Lewes!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Touch of Italy

Touch of Italy
Ranked #2 of 88 Restaurants in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Touch of Italy was born out of two Italian family traditions that trace back to the late 1800's. These two families trace their roots to the beautiful Marche and Abruzzo regions in Central Italy, where one can find rich cultural traditions and recipes passed down from generation to generation. Touch of Italy first opened in the fall of 2010 in Lewes, Delaware and proudly runs five locations in Ocean City, Lewes and Rehoboth Beach, serving fresh items like handmade mozzarella cheese, pasta, pizza, cookies and crispy bread, as well as high quality imported items from Italy. Touch of Italy is proud to bring the Italian tradition to costal Delaware and Maryland, and pay tribute to our ancestors, who imparted to us a love of food and family.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Italian Perfection in Lewes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We discovered ToI by accident while biking in the fall of 2012 and have not stop going since. Perfect lunch after biking the Rehoboth-Lewes trails. Great wine, delicious food and AWESOME service that makes you feel at home or at a cozy restaurant in Rome.

Buon Appetito!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingAlberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    137
    33
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Andreas, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Combo Deli, Bakery, & Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

A corner Italian Deli and Bakery that turned out to have the best fettuccine Alfredo and thin crust pizza w/mozzarella and Italian sausage. My wife loves Alfredo sauce that is not too garlicky and home made pasta and that's exactly what she got. My pizza had a pesto sauce with big spheres of home-made mozzarella and Italian sausage that was not to spicy. And of course my wife and I both had eclairs with Ann assortment of Italian cookies to take back to the hotel. If your in Lewes, don't miss it. Don't get fooled by looking inside from the sidewalk trying to find the tables and chairs. After 5 or 6 steps inside the store you'll see them plus a bar for drinks or wine!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bodine85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We really loved this place. Food was great, atmosphere was relaxing, husband saidg he could imagine people playing cards Iin a back room somewhere

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lobsterj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
115 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“The Garlic Delivery That Never Came”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

The smells and ambiance of Taste of Italy makes you anticipate a tasty, wonderful meal. Unfortunately, although there is a wonderful wait staff, the food is bland, stale and unimaginative. Having never been there before we thought we would taste a sampling and ordered three appetizers and a salad. The Caesar Salad was beautiful and tasteless - no garlic, no lemon, no seasonings at all. Although the Gnocchi were light and airy pillows, they were undercooked and the 4-cheese sauce was as bland as Kraft Mac-n-Cheese. The Meat Marinara Sauce is very tasty but ladled over mealy, tasteless meatballs. We had anticipated that the spinach ravioli would be stuffed with a cheese/ spinach mixture. Instead it was presented as cheese ravioli draped with sauteed spinach. The spinach was very good - best part of the meal. The biggest disappointment was the bread - a beautiful presentation just waiting to be dipped in the excess marinara - but the bread was stale - at least a day or two old - making what could be a savory finish just dull. Well, we thought, lets save the meal with an Espresso. Plunked on the table was a cup of tepid Espresso. With a wave to the little box of Domino Sugar packets on the table, the waitress said, "There's your sugar"...no little lemon peel curl...no cube of sugar to slowly dissolve in the hot Espresso...no meal saving cup. Expensive and not worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royersford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Lil touch of Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We took the ferry over from Cape May to explore Lewes DE. What a fantastic find! Quaint lil restaurant an the end of Second street. We only ordered a plain cheese pizza BUT it was the closes to Rome Italy I have tested! Fresh mozzarella, basil, EVO! delicious! The Pinot Grigio was good too! The pastries and especially the Sfogliatelle was to die for.
I'd take the ferry over just to eat there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ny2pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Touch of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing