We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Touch of Italy

Touch of Italy
Ranked #2 of 88 Restaurants in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Description: Home for Bob Ciprietti is Arthur Avenue in the Bronx. Growing up there and falling in love with the food, tradition,and people of NY inspired him to bring a little bit of home to Delaware. Touch of Italy first opened in the fall of 2010 in Lewes, Delaware and now has locations in Rehoboth Beach and Ocean City, MD. Each ristorante has a salumeria(deli) and a pasticceria (bakery) in house. Although our dining room opens at 11 AM, the bakery and deli open at 10 AM. We are known for our most popular Chicken Parm, our mozzarella, our crispy bread, our internationally recognized brick oven pizza, our pasta, and our eclairs. It's important to us that when you dine with us you enjoy a true authentic Italian experience with good food, friends, family, and great conversation. Stop by for a glass of wine and some good pasta or some meatballs and bread. Regardless of your choice, you won't be disappointed.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Food and service were great. A little bit of NYC little Italy in Lewes like their name suggests. Had great pasta. They even had grappa to go with my double espresso.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GXGXGXZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    147
    35
    28
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“AMAZING Italian Food”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We are in Rehoboth Beach for vacation, and we stopped in this restaurant around 8:30-9 and they were ready to stop seating, but they allowed us to sit. We had no idea that this was the first day for the new location for the Touch of Italy off of route 1. At the beginning the service wasnt great, but it was fine considering that it was a brand new restaurant. After everyone got settled the service was great. There was also an Italian singer that was very good, and the atmoshpere was pretty good. I ordered a meal that had shell pasta with Italian Sausage and Broccoli and it was unbelievably good. The chicken and eggplant parmesan was probably the best I have ever had, and the meatballs were good too. This place was an amazing Italian place and it was MUCH better than the Zebra restaurant which we went to the night before.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maxreds19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very poor customer service”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I will start by saying this place offers high quality, Italian food. That is the only positive thing I can say about this establishment. The lack of focus on customer service should be an embarrassment to the stores owner. Employees in this store are more concerned with standing around and counting their tips than listening to what customers are ordering. On a recent trip, all of the sandwiches were made incorrectly. It also took them 25 minutes to make 4 sandwiches. When I flagged thus to the manager I was told that I needed to be patient because they had new hires that we're still being trained. It doesn't seem like this should be my problem to deal with. Luckily there are so many other better spits to visit for a lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alilogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food in Lewes!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

On a recent trip to Lewes, DE we stopped in a Taste of Italy one evening. It's a small restaurant - salumeria on the corner of a main street in Lewes. The restaurant side was very small and very crowded; the salumeria side was also very small and crowded. We left because it was obvious there would be a huge wait. However, it was obvious everyone was having a great time, the dinners looked delicious, and the cheeses and salami hanging up looked even better.

If you are a New Yorker, this is the place to go. It's hard to believe you can find some authentic real Italian food outside the tri-state area. We returned the following night and were lucky enough to get a small table right away. Although the waitstaff had to squeeze around our table and the refrigerator cabinet, it was well worth it for us.

Terrific Italian food, great wine, and even better cannoli for desert. I hesitated to write this because it means more people may go - making it even more crowded! Time to open a larger, dedicated restaurant - and expand the salumeria.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodaholic5270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A true restaurant”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Many restaurants in touristic locations feel engineered only to cater to tourists, but this was a spot where you can feel that the food is front and center in importance. At the entrance, you first see the Little Italy style deli counter filled with olives, salads, and desserts, with cured meats like sopressata hanging from racks above it. Across from the deli counter is a crush of little tables. It was pretty loud in there with all the tables filled, and it seemed a little weird to have tables mixed in with Italian items for sale, rather chaotic. The thin crusted pizza was excellent, however, and made up for lack of decor. We had the sausage with broccoli rabe and smoked mozzarella and the flavros were a fantastic combination.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Touch of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing