We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food in a quaint evironment”
Review of Touch of Italy

Touch of Italy
Ranked #2 of 88 Restaurants in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch
Description: Home for Bob Ciprietti is Arthur Avenue in the Bronx. Growing up there and falling in love with the food, tradition,and people of NY inspired him to bring a little bit of home to Delaware. Touch of Italy first opened in the fall of 2010 in Lewes, Delaware and now has locations in Rehoboth Beach and Ocean City, MD. Each ristorante has a salumeria(deli) and a pasticceria (bakery) in house. Although our dining room opens at 11 AM, the bakery and deli open at 10 AM. We are known for our most popular Chicken Parm, our mozzarella, our crispy bread, our internationally recognized brick oven pizza, our pasta, and our eclairs. It's important to us that when you dine with us you enjoy a true authentic Italian experience with good food, friends, family, and great conversation. Stop by for a glass of wine and some good pasta or some meatballs and bread. Regardless of your choice, you won't be disappointed.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a quaint evironment”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This restaurant proves that you cannot "tell a book by its cover." Located in a house with a very small eating area and bar, this place serves up excellent Italian fare and offers deli items. We were there on a week night, so there were only a few people using the place, but I would guess that weekends and holidays would be packed. If you are in Lewes, this is a must see place to eat. We will be back, whenever we are in the area.

Service was prompt and very helpful; the olive bread is the best; all our entrees were excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mr2man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    145
    35
    28
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very, Very Good!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I've eaten at the 2nd Street location several times for lunch since this place opened. Wonderful Caprese salads (tell them light on salt & pepper if you prefer little or none). Pizza is awesome and the sandwiches are amazing. The sandwiches are large so plan on sharing. Cappuccinos are good but can take some time because they only have one machine. Service has always been great.

Probably important to note that it is not a great sit-down restaurant for families with little ones because the seating is tight and the menu is limited for young children (meaning no special kids menu).

Also,this place is relatively small and busy...very busy. Especially during the weekends. At times the wait can easily exceed an hour for a table at lunch, however you can wander around town and they will call you when your table is ready.

The prices remind me I'm in Lewes, but the atmosphere reminds me of the small, busy shops throughout Italy. Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mh290362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Memorial Day Weekend Delight”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My family stopped in on Saturday evening of Memorial Day Weekend - fortunately we arrived early, as the holiday crowd was in full force. Service was prompt despite being very busy. Started off with Olive Bread and Antipasto di Casa which were delicious. They have the best pizza in the area, so my son selected his favorite. Wife enjoyed her Pollo Taleggio and my Pesce Fra’ diavola (shrimp, clams, mussels in a spicy marinara with tossed taglioni was fantastic. Highly recommend this place and old downtown Lewes is a quant shopping experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amore”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stopped at Touch of Italy Saturday evening for a bite to eat and sat outside. It was lightly raining but the air was warm and thanks to the large umbrella, we enjoyed out meal without getting wet. We had an antipasta and shared an yummy pizza with fresh mozzarella and basil.The service was excellent and the place was packed with happy people enjoying the large variety of items on the menu. Don't miss this great spot!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rsiesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stopped in because my sister in law highly recommended it. We had glasses of wine at the bar and a delicious brick oven pizza on Friday night. We stopped by for a Cappuccino on Sunday and they were having problems with their POS equipment - so he gave us a Cappuccino on the house. We will make this our go to dinner place when we are in Lewes this July on vacation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitch A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Touch of Italy also viewed

 

Been to Touch of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing