We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mmmmmmmmm!”

Hopkins Farm Creamery
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Farm Made Ice Cream
Level Contributor
88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Mmmmmmmmm!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

A good stop to make on the way home from the beach! We enjoyed delicious, reasonably-priced, farm made ice cream at a picnic table in the shade. I had the peaches and cream, which had the delicate flavor of and small pieces of real peach (not some over-flavored, orange-colored chemical taste). My friend's strawberry cheesecake scoop was gone before I could even get much of a look at it. He assures me that it was delicious and also had "real" -v- manufactured flavors. The cows were in the loafing barn next to the pick-up windows, and we enjoyed seeing them as well. Lovely!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BonsterMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    31
    10
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
145 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Why bother?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Have you ever eaten ice cream and thought the experience would be enriched by swatting away zillions of flies and smelling cow poo? Then this place is for you! The ice cream is very good, but honestly, how hard is it to find good ice cream? Right, it's not that hard. So why would you drive way out of the way on crowded roads to eat it at a farm? The people are nice, the prices are good,there's a little gazebo to sit and a small playground for kids. But, it's a smelly, smelly farm. Our clothes stank for hours afterwards.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Audrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Delaware
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ice cream heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Don't worry about the lines, it is worth the wait. The ice cream is so good. Check out the baby cows in the stalls to the right of windows.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best ice cream on the planet earth.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We love it. We go there all the time. It's on the actual farm so depending on the wind direction, prepare for the oh-so real smell. We love seeing the cows and the baby calves. They also have a large play area for the kids.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PudgyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Yum! Best ice cream ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I love a good ice cream and I do believe this is the best I've ever eaten. My entire family enjoyed it. If you won't appreciate the smell of a dairy farm, this may not be the place for you. We had our reservations when pulling in, but tried it anyway hoping that the long lines meant exceptional food.

We were not disappointed! Truly amazing! The smell just added to the experience - as did the newborn calves we saw!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank momto4sweeties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hopkins Farm Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing