We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lewes Beach Delaware” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lewes Beach

Lewes Beach
Ranked #3 of 51 things to do in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lewes Beach Delaware”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Lewes beach is nice just inside the Delaware Bay so if you have small children or ones who don't swim well it is great! If you are looking for ocean waves go to Cape Henlopen State Park, its just down the street

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lunasea479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    109
    36
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Smaller Beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Lewes Beach is on the Delaware Bay so you don't get the big waves you would on the ocean side. I liked this because I didn't have to worry about my 8 yo daughter getting taken out by waves or my 14yo son getting caught in a riptide. They were able to just swim the calmer water and enjoyed that. The restrooms and showers were pretty disgusting, which is the only reason I rated this 3 of 5. There is ample metered parking and concessions to rent chairs, umbrellas, body boards, etc. and they also sell drinks and snacks.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette_in_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Beach for Small Children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This beach is not too crowded. The parking lot is right by the beach so you don't have to walk. It is the bay so there are practically no waves, so if your kids are older they may want to go a couple of miles down the road to Cape Henlopen. If you are looking for easy swimming this is a quaint little beach for you. There is a restroom which I didn't use, but it looked like it may have a changing area because it was big.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluewave6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“family friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

lots of cheap parking nice bathrooms and safe bay beach for babies. we plan to come more often and its nice you can pay for meters with credit cards

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Donise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“smaller and more quaint than those big beaches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Lewes beach was a short drive from our hotel and I am glad that I took my family to this beach as opposed to Rehobeth. This beach is smaller and less crowded and perfect for a day at the beach with family. We packed up our cooler and sand toys and headed to Lewes beach. it was the perfect day, we met lots of people on the beach and would recommend this beach if you want a smaller less crowded beach. there are bathrooms and a small snack shack too. the water was calm and surprisingly warm. definatly worth the trip. Metered parking and it's not limited to a certain amount of time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lewes Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing