We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the view!”

The Wharf Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #26 of 88 Restaurants in Lewes
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Established in 2011 The Wharf Restaurant & Bar welcomes you to Lewes, Delaware. With new ownership, comes new menus and staff - yet the same fantastic waterfront location. Come visit us and enjoy a relaxing, family & pet friendly dining experience. We also offer:SpecialtiesA mouthwatering new menu will welcome you and your family to our fantastic waterfront location. From burgers, to seafood, to nachos, to huge salads, we have something for everyone. You have to try the Lobster Mac n' Cheese. And for a vegetarian treat, how does a portabella mushroom cheese "steak" sandwich sound?Come visit us and enjoy a relaxing, family friendly dining experience. We also offer:Custom CateringPrivate PartiesHappy Hour daily 12 pm to 7 pm
Fallston, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Can't beat the view!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The views here from this place right on the canal are spectacular. I ordered the special, a fried grouper sandwich and it was huge and delicious. It came with Fisherman's fries, seasoned with Old Bay. Salty but great. We also had calamari with excellent marinara sauce. Awesome.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DianeF827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    86
    63
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
asheville, nc
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“mediocre food”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

the crab cake had a hard outside. The bread was stale. The mussels were good, liked the white wine sauce. The service was fine. The view of the canal is pleasant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank contradancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice view, average food and service”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had lunch here The fish sandwich was large and hot but the fish appeared to have been frozen. We expected fresh fish from a restaurant on the wharf.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 50Stater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Food and Views, Unfortunate Dust Up with the Waitstaff”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The attraction here is that you can eat out on the back deck along a working dock with excursion boats for fishing and cruises. When the fishing guys return, their catch gets gutted in an open air shanty right at the edge of the restaurant deck--sounds gross but it's really fun and interesting. Part of the deck is under an overhang and part is out in the sun with table umbrellas, so you get your choice.

All of the food is given a thoughtful presentation with unusual greens and dishes in special shapes. The fried calamari appetizer with marinara sauce is a great starter, as is the buttery-rich seafood chowder. The shrimp and scallop po' boy sandwich makes a great lunch--even the sesame seed roll is special with an unusual toasty oat/malt kind of flavor. Salad lovers will appreciate the steak bistro--a mix of special greens with tips of fillet mignon, toasted walnuts, grilled peaches, and gorganzola.

Unfortunately, this visit started with an ugly dust-up over the sound volume of the speakers on the deck. The waitstaff refused to turn it down because, they said, the volume control also works the speakers in the bar and "you can hardly hear it in there." After listening to Adelle caterwalling through an entire album at the top of her lungs, I was fit to be tied. They wouldn't move us to a quieter part of the deck because it was "closed." When I finally stood up an announced I was leaving, they changed their mind--turns out it was just the waitstaff setting "rules" so they didn't have to clean off extra tables and carry the food quite so far. We'll still be going back though--the food and the view is a very strong draw.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gointocarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Friendly place, great bar, nice food....beautiful water views”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Was so dissapointed the bar wasnt open when we were there last weekend....Apparently its closed for a couple of weeks??? Not sure why? But remembering how brilliant it was a couple months ago, I thought I should write a review. The wine menu was limited but the choice was excellant....prices amazing, food was awesome....location was perfect....I love to be on the water...and wishing it was warmer so we could have sat outside on the deck. This is just a bar to drop in for a drink and a quick snack...never tried the restaurant...but for what we wanted...a bar on the canal for a quick drink and a nibble to eat....it was perfect! Barmaid was friendly and made us feel welcome, as did the locals and tourists in the bar.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Wharf Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing