We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crabs etal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Surfing Crab

The Surfing Crab
Ranked #15 of 88 Restaurants in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Surfing Crab is a family tradition of fresh seafood and crabs that was established over 50 years ago. It all started back in 1961, when Henry Vechery opened the Bethesda Crab House. His young son, Donald Vechery began working with him at the age of just nine. Over the years, the crab house became a huge success. Around 2008, Donald wanted to branch out and build something for himself using his years of knowledge and experience. Thus, The Surfing Crab was born, providing Sussex County with 8 years of the most amazing crabs and seafood the area has seen. Come down and try our passionatly crafted dishes using the freshest seafood available!
Fairfax Station
Level Contributor
104 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Crabs etal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stop and listen. You want crabs, corn on the cob, steamed jumbo shrimp and french fries, all served hot and delicious along with a pitcher of cold beer. Go there. Thats all you need to know.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wil_from_Va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    41
    12
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Go To Place for Steamed Crabs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

After trying all the crab places at the Delaware beaches, this is now our only place to eat crabs. We have never been disappointed. We usually stop in early afternoon our first day at the beach to find out the sizes for that night and put our order in for whatever is the largest size that day, and the time we want to arrive. They are steamed with just the right amount of spices and are never overcooked. They are very gracious about the occasional "off" crab and will replace cheerfully. While I personally don't order anything other than crabs and fries, dining companions have been satisfied with other menu items such as crab cakes. While the place can be noisy, that is essentially the ambience of a crab shack, as well as the paper lined tables and paper towels galore. The service has always been fast and attentive with decent house wines. The little blue shack is easy to find right on the Coastal Highway and there is plenty of free parking.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank xiphosuran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious crabs, but don't arrive "late"!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We arrived to the Surfing Crab around 7:30 p.m. and closing time is 9:00 p.m. The only negative thing I have to say about this restaurant is that it was obvious that the staff was none too pleased that we arrived at this time because they clearly wanted to close up early. It was a Sunday evening and there were about six other families dining there when we arrived and half of them weren't just finishing up with their meals. There were only 2 of us in our party and it wasn't like we are particularly demanding people - we just wanted some crabs.

I felt like I had to "bargain" with the waiter to even place an order this "late" in the evening. The waiter went back to the kitchen and returned to let us know that the chef was basically willing to prepare our food for us. We were even encouraged to consume our meal in manner that wouldn't require any lollygagging on our parts (I'm paraphrasing, but you get the idea). It only took 20 minutes to steam our crabs and the mussels were out within 5-10 minutes. As soon as other diners left, the staff began furiously cleaning up around us and made us feel like we were imposing on them. I do not appreciate being rushed during any dining experience. We spent a pretty penny there and tipped the waiter in excess of 20% despite the fact that it almost felt like a drive-thru experience. I had visions of Seinfeld's "Soup Nazi" episode running through my head.

On the upside, however, these crabs were absolutely delicious! The medium-sized crabs were plenty for 2 of us and our starting course of mussels were scrumptous as well. Our waiter at least took the time to show me (a midwesterner) how to crack open the crabs. Holy cow were they tasty! And the chef gave us an extra crab to make it a baker's dozen, so that was nice. I would definitely visit this restaurant again when I return to the area, despite the service issue, which I hope the management discusses with the staff. I would have rated this a 4 or 5, but for the rushed dining experience by the staff, so therefore I gave it a 3.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MsGoChiefsGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarves
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tremendous Crab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is the sort of restaurant you just don't get in the UK. Looks quite basic with long wooden tables / benches but that just adds to the experience. You come here for the food, crab specifically, which was marked up by size on a blackboard. We had a dozen large (blue) crabs between the 2 of us and they were superb. You have to be prepared to make a mess as eating whole crab is not haute cuisine but all part of the experience. Very helpful staff showed us what we had to do to get the meat out. Absolutely brilliant fun and beautifully cooked fresh seafood. Hard to beat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Steamed Crabs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I were at the beach for vacation, and decided to get some steamed crabs one evening. The Surfing Crab was close by so we thought we would try it. They steam the crabs fresh which takes about 20-30 minutes. We decided to get an appetizer while we waited for the crabs. We ordered the fried oysters which were very good although I thought that the serving was small for the price. We also tried the potato salad which was good, but again a very small portion. We went for the crabs though, and ordered the large size. We were not disappointed. They were a really nice size, and very full. The service was very good, and the waitress was attentive. We sat in the small dining room with tables and chairs instead of in the dining room with picnic tables. Our only complaint was the noise level. It was quite loud, and difficult to hear each other to talk during dinner. I wish we had sat in the larger room as it seemed a lot less noisy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beachy722Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Surfing Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing