We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of FRESH LOCAL Produce to choose from” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic Lewes Farmers Market

Historic Lewes Farmers Market
Ranked #17 of 51 things to do in Lewes
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Attraction details
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Delaware
Level Contributor
1,102 reviews
445 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,683 helpful votes
“Lots of FRESH LOCAL Produce to choose from”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I had visited here a few years ago. Back then we saw just a few tables from some local farms. This year we were very impressed with the amount of vendors. There were lots of booths to visit. We saw TONS of local produce, fresh flowers and herbs. We also saw some honey, mushrooms, lavendar products, fresh organic chicken, fresh farm eggs, milk, baked goods and MORE. What a nice way to get some fresh LOCAL produce and support your local farmers! I would recommend.

Note: The market is on a dirt and crushed clamshell type surface. There are some tree roots and walkway bricks to walk around. There is a small restroom on site in an outhouse type building--upgraded to modern day plumbing.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank daisyferret1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't miss this.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

About 20 vendors offering everything from cheese and seafood to fresh flowers and ice cream. All our located in the shade and around historic buildings in the first town of he first state...Delaware! Fun for the whole family.

Helpful?
Thank mbfeeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
127 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Quite simply the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

What a feast for the senses the Lewes Farmers Market is. From furniture to peanut butter cookies and with everything you could want in between. It is one of many reasons I'd like to move to Lewes.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ciaobla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What A Wonderful Way To Spend The Morning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We visited the Market for the first time this past saturday, the opening day of the season. It was already a beautiful morning and we got an early start (which is advisable as the fairly ample local parking options quickly fill up past 10 a.m.) All I can say is that my wife and I had an almost magical and very peaceful morning strolling casually from vendor to vendor. There is a nice variety, offering local fruits and vegetables, breads, baked sweets and a small sample of other prepared foods. But the most attractive aspect of our visit was that quiet, peaceful atmosphere. The organizers and vendors could not be more engaging and we found quality in all our purchases.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Hqdepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Exceptional Market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

Went to the Lewes Farmer's Market on our way to the beach at the beginning of October -- in actuality, we planned our arrival to the beach to coincide with the Farmer's Market. We have been traveling to Dewey Beach the first week of October for 10 years, and had, in the past, stopped at the various and sundry farm stands on the way. This year we decided we would go out of our way to hit the Lewes market. It was NOT a mistake. There was a great variety of products and SUPER nice farmers and folks happy to sell us their goods. We even went back the second Saturday of our stay, even though we were leaving on Monday. I feel better knowing that I got quality, wholesome food for my vacation. Sorry restauranteurs... this year we only ate out one time!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank PLN_Bird_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Lewes Farmers Market also viewed

 

Been to Historic Lewes Farmers Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing