We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and Enjoy the Ride”

Cape May-Lewes Ferry
Ranked #2 of 52 things to do in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whether you're crossing the Delaware Bay for a fun day trip or as part of a long-distance trip, on the Cape May-Lewes Ferry, your journey is sure to be a memorable one.Enjoy historic lighthouses, picturesque harbors, oceangoing vessels, unique seabirds and, just maybe, your very own dolphin escort!The 17-mile, 85-minute cruise between New Jersey and Delaware can cut miles off a trip along the Atlantic Coast, connecting points like Wildwood, Stone Harbor, Avalon, Ocean City and the rest of the Jersey Shore with Rehoboth Beach, Dewey Beach, Sussex Shores, Bethany Beach, Fenwick Island, Ocean City, MD, and destinations throughout Virginia.Our welcoming, modern terminals are a destination in and of themselves, with enjoyable restaurants and lounges, and well-stocked gift shops!
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Very well organized and on schedule. If you do not want to stay with your car, the lounge area is extremely comfortable. Glad that we opted for the ferry instead of the drive.

Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeniepc, Customer Service Supervisor at Cape May-Lewes Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We appreciate the kind words and compliments. We always try our best to provide great service as well as make sure that our guesst have a great experience. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,096 - 1,100 of 1,428 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

Travel this way to get to Atlantic city, makes the trip nice and gives you a break in driving. My mother is handicap so they go out of there way to make it pleasant for her, I very much appreciate all the workers do. The trip is about 80 min. so just enough time to eat lunch have a cup of coffee, play cards or take in the views. We have used the ferry about 100 times, and we all ways look forward to it.

1  Thank robinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeniepc, Customer Service Supervisor at Cape May-Lewes Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for all of the kind words and for taking the time to write a review. We try our hardest to make sure our guests have a pleasant and safe experience. We appreciate you travelling with us and look forward to seeing you on your next adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Well run and organized! Clean on time. Good food and spirits available. Playground and mini golf while you wait on the Lewes side. (not sure about the Cape May side)

Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 2, 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review. We do offer mini golf in Cape May as well. We hope you can travel with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I have used the Cape May - Lewes Ferry at least once and sometimes more than once a year for the last 12 years, most recently on 12/26/13. It is an excellent way to travel along the coast and avoid the traffic of Interstate 95. For my trips between North Carolina and Massachusetts (stopping at NY City on the way up and Norfolk on the way back), the ferry is a welcome break from driving. The crew and staff are all helpful and friendly and take their jobs seriously and treat the passengers politely and professionally. There is food, soft drinks and coffee on board the ferry's comfortable cabin and in the terminal before boarding. The cost of the ferry is partially offset by the tolls that are avoided by not taking the likely alternative driving-only routes. I wish the 4:00 or 4:30 pm ferry ride from Cape May was still available in the winter months. Still a great experience.

1  Thank NC2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We always enjoy reading about our guest experiences when traveling with us. We love to do the driving for our guest. We hope to see you onboard with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

I often use the Cape May/Lewes Ferry when traveling from Delaware to New Jersey. It is a wonderful break in travel to unwind after a long week of business or to have great conversation with family. The views are great and the refreshment area is well stocked for the trip.

Thank AJHDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded December 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review.

We love to do the driving for our guest while they sit back, relax, and enjoy the crossing.

We hope to see you onboard with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape May-Lewes Ferry also viewed

 

Been to Cape May-Lewes Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing