We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far more relaxing than driving”

Cape May-Lewes Ferry
Ranked #1 of 51 things to do in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whether you're crossing the Delaware Bay for a fun day trip or as part of a long-distance trip, on the Cape May-Lewes Ferry, your journey is sure to be a memorable one.Enjoy historic lighthouses, picturesque harbors, oceangoing vessels, unique seabirds and, just maybe, your very own dolphin escort!The 17-mile, 85-minute cruise between New Jersey and Delaware can cut miles off a trip along the Atlantic Coast, connecting points like Wildwood, Stone Harbor, Avalon, Ocean City and the rest of the Jersey Shore with Rehoboth Beach, Dewey Beach, Sussex Shores, Bethany Beach, Fenwick Island, Ocean City, MD, and destinations throughout Virginia.Our welcoming, modern terminals are a destination in and of themselves, with enjoyable restaurants and lounges, and well-stocked gift shops!
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Far more relaxing than driving”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I took the ferry from Lewes to Cape May as a relaxing alternative to the drive and we loved it. The weather was beautiful and we enjoyed a ride. There are no particularly 'exciting' sights but that isn't the point. This was a way to unwind and enjoy the slower pace. We'd do it again in a moment.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HaveWineWilTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charisse R, Guest Relations Manager at Cape May-Lewes Ferry, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Glad you loved your sailing with us and were able to kick back and relax while we did the driving for you! Hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    914
    347
    48
    12
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
texas near san antonio
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“On the Ferry”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We decided to take the ferry from Delaware to New Jersey. We thought that it would be fun to park the car on the ferry, relax and see the ocean. It was not so great as we had hoped. The ferry stay near land in the bay, and there is nothing interesting to see. It also took us as much time to take the ferry and then drive to our hotel further north in New Jersey as it would have taken driving all the way back throught Deleware, Philly and to our hotel in New Jersey. The ride would have been faster, cheaper, and as relaxing as the ferry.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank texasallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charisse R, Guest Relations Manager at Cape May-Lewes Ferry, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
You are correct, depending on where you are coming from and going to the ferry does not save you time. There are many reasons for guests traveling on the ferry; depending on where you are from, many guests have never seen a lighthouse, dolphins, or even a tanker ship so for them it is quite an enjoyable journey. Many of our guests also sail with us for a break from the ordinary and for many nostalgic reasons. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxbury, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Unexpected fun”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The ferry has seen better days. Many of the outdoor seats are broken and the engines strain most of the trip. But I enjoyed every minute of the trip. You see Cape May fading away as Lewes becomes bigger an bigger then on the return trip the opposite. There is food and beverages available at the snack bar and alcoholic drinks at the bar. The highlight of our trip was when the dolphins appeared, coming and going, and seemed to be playing with the boat. There is shopping available in Deleware and a casino under an hour away . It was a fun trip and a nice way to spend a clear day. I highly recommend.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mkathy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charisse R, Guest Relations Manager at Cape May-Lewes Ferry, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We are continually updating our fleet and replacing the benches is on our list. We are glad you had an enjoyable experience and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cape May - Lewes Ferry”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

What an enjoyable journey ! On time & the weather helped, lovely to sit in the sun on the deck of the ferry. Clean with good amenities.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentVirgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charisse R, Guest Relations Manager at Cape May-Lewes Ferry, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback. We try our best to maintain an on-time service which can be difficult with any mode of transportation. Glad the weather cooperated for your travels with us and we hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic and unexpected trip!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were on holiday in the US from the UK and drove down to Ocean City, MD from Atlantic City. When we popped the destination into the GPS system it said we needed to take a ferry which we weren't expecting. It was such a pleasant addition to the journey and everyone working for the Ferry was exceptionally nice and polite. Highly recommended!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charisse R, Guest Relations Manager at Cape May-Lewes Ferry, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Glad we were able to WOW you with your unexpected trip! Coming from the UK this is quite an honor with the many ferry services that you have in your region. Thanks for the great review and if you are ever in the US again we hope you include us in the plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape May-Lewes Ferry also viewed

 

Been to Cape May-Lewes Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing