We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful surprise, more than we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Canal Square
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise, more than we expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Based on the Tripadvisor reviews, we chose to stay at the Inn before taking the morning Cape May - Lewes ferry. Found that it certainly deserved the excellent reviews -- location,ambeience, service, and Sunday breakfast. Delightful to park our car after a long drive and be able to walk to a large choice of restaurants. We liked it and the town so much that we changed our plans and booked again for our return trip. Have already recommended the Inn to our friend.

Room Tip: request upper floor room for view of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hardtoplease75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    38
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
30
107
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

I was there for a business seminar from Tuesday to Monday the last week of September. The weather was excellent. It was a great pleasure to run along the beach in the morning. Location of this hotel is very good. Very close to the center of the little town of Lewis. Very convenient to have a dinner to the large choice of restaurant less than 5mn away from the hotel. The hotel is at walking distance from the beach. The room was on ground floor very large and comfortable. This place is giving the impression to be at home. All the staff at the hotel was very helpful. I really appreciated a selection of books available in the room. I could not even find the time to watch the TV

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XRAY54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

to keep it from becoming too popular.Quaint, quiet, and somewhat quirky, this property has very well maintained grounds and a super location. We stayed 12 & 13 August on the 4th floor and had a large room with a balcony that overlooked the canal and the park. We didn't experience any of the problems Emery F related. The hotel is compact and nothing spectacular to look at from the outside although there is some interesting, low key art work on the exterior. Inside, the artwork is more prominent and tastefully arranged. There's a small but pleasant lobby and small dining area for the continental breakfast. A small restaurant/bar is onsite but we didn't experience it. There's no pool, which probably contributes to the place being so quiet. When I checked in the desk clerk handed me the key to the room. An actual metal key. I don't think I've stayed anywhere that uses metal keys for at least the past 10 years. One of the quirks, I guess. It's a short, one block stroll to restaurants and shops and the light ship "Overfalls" on the canal. Nice place. I'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyrussilversox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed in unit #115 on Aug 4th and 5th, 2012. The unit we were given for the night smelled moldy and spoiled, like wet kitty litter. The carpeting was sticky. the Front Desk claimed it was just cleaned. If so, it was not dried and perhaps was not rinsed enough when cleaned.

The fold out bed sheets had blood stains on them, that had soaked all the way through to the mattress pad. Needless to say, my 8 year old daughter refused to sleep in the fold out even after we changed the sheets. Yes, I had to help the desk clerk change the sheets as apparently there is no off hours house keeper.

The bathroom door casing was broken and gaping holes existed where the door stop had been slammed against the casing. The shower curtain rod had rust stains on it.

The air conditioner was extremely loud, and whenever the compressor kicked in over night, we all were awakened.

We had to keep all the window shades closed at all times, as the windows open directly into the hotel's restaurant, bar, and waiting area! Once dark, if we opened the windows we were literally less than 10 feet from people sitting and eating dinner. Not the kind of "seafood" I had in mind!!

Considering the cost to stay was much higher than other locations (Rehoboth, for example), we have to rate this hotel room as one of the worst we have ever stayed in.

I have never left a review on anything, but in this case feel compelled to warn people to stay away from unit #115 at the Inn as Canal Square!

Room Tip: Rehoboth Beach offers less expensive rooms, nearer the beach, with higher levels of cleanliness and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Emery F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innatcanalsquare, General Manager at Inn at Canal Square, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We thank you for your review and take every review very seriously. What you experienced is definitely not the standard we hope to display with our rooms. When you made our front desk aware of the issues with the sheets it was remedied immediately and we apologized profusely for the inconvenience and applied a discount to your room. However, we were not made aware of the other issues and only learned about them in this review, and apologize for the additional troubles that you experienced during your stay. We have since totally renovated our pet friendly room(room 115), and have replaced the flooring, re-upholstered the furniture and have redone the entire bathroom area.

Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Lewes was our first stop on our honeymoon roadtrip from our home in PA to Key West and back. We weren't very confident about what we would find, although our decision to go was entirely based off of the good reviews on here and the inclusion of the town in the 1000 Places to See Before You Die - United States book. We were so pleasantly surprised!

Lewes is a beautiful little walking town, situated right on the Lewes-Rehoboth Canal, an easy drive from Rehoboth Beach but without all of the touristy jam-packed-ness.

When we arrived at the Inn, they informed us that our room had not the best view, so they had upgraded us to a nicer room on the 3rd floor looking over the canal - totally unexpected and wonderful! We did have some minor room problems - a light bulb blew out and the mini fridge didn't really get cold at all, but the same woman who checked us in ran right up, fixed the light, tried to fix the fridge, and ended up bringing us up extra ice containers whenever she was unable to fix it. Later that evening, she brought up the wine we had ordered. Steven said that he hadn't had much of a choice - just red or white - but they made a wonderful selection however they did it! We received a bottle of Argentine Malbec, which was delicious.
Breakfast was a nice European style, with fruit and breads laid out, which was quite good for the heat.

We loved our stay and would have enjoyed spending multiple nights here. Do listen to the other recommenders and go for the third floor canal view if possible. Lower floor canal views do put you rather close to a small parking lot. But honestly, the service and location make it worth it even without the lovely view.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor canal view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrandyHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

The Inn is quiet, quaint and well maintained. We had a lovely stay and our room overlooked the canal. Our room was very large with a spacious balcony. They also served a lovely breakfast. We enjoyed the surrounding shopping and dining. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ggirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Only spent one night there this week. Weather was just tooo hot. But we will be back. The inn is beautiful, clean, well maintained, and quiet. The family next door to us apologized for their little one's crying during the night. We never heard it. Very nice views from the harborview rooms.

Lewes is a quiet retreat. Some very good restaurants near by. Cape Henlopen beach is 5 mins away. The Lewes municipal beach is a good option for small children. Rehoboth and its great dining scene is 10 mins down the road.

Our beach splurges in the past have been the Boardwalk Plaza. The Inn has now taken over that spot.

Room Tip: Harbor view rooms. We had room 304.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank-n-PatS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#2 of 7 in Lewes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
5.3 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
3.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Canal Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Canal Square

Property: Inn at Canal Square
Address: 122 W Market St, Lewes, DE 19958-1340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront in the heart of Historic Lewes, The Inn at Canal Square offers its guests exceptional comfort coupled with seaside charm. With 22 beautifully appointed rooms, three 2BR luxury suites and 2 conference rooms, The Inn serves as an ideal coastal escape, retreat location and event destination. All accommodations are generously sized and most feature a balcony overlooking the Lewes Harbor. The Inn's romantic décor invites you to relax and unwind. The Inn is open year round and offers a complimentary, extensive European-Style breakfast.Centrally located, The Inn is a short distance away from unique shopping, fine dining and bay area beaches. And, it's within a mile of the ocean beaches of Cape Henlopen State Park. Visit the new Canal Front Park, located just next door and enjoy the seasonal flowers and a lovely view of the Lewes Harbor.Our friendly, professional staff is always on hand to assist you with dining options, shopping venues and other area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inn at Canal Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Canal Square Hotel Lewes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing