We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Canal Square

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Canal Square
Save
You added Inn at Canal Square to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
Reisterstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This was our third stay at this delightful inn. Best view in area and perfect location to walk to the area' s great restaurants. Very comfortable rooms and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Choose top floor for best view of canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggl12618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    36
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
27
96
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This hotel, adjacent to Lewes downtown strip, has around 30 rooms tucked into a two buildings overlooking a little courtyard. The gentleman at the front desk was very pleasant. We enjoyed a buffet breakfast in the sunny downstairs breakfast room. Our room was not so special but plenty nice enough.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank inDC_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmora, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We have stayed here many times and love it! The rooms are always clean, the desk is so helpful and kind, the location is great, the included breakfast is just perfect. A wonderful get away!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank epa0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Our room at the Inn was spacious, clean with a very nice view of the canal. The staff could not have been friendlier.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisFromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Lewes is a pleasant place, realtively quiet and none of the traffic and strip mall ambiance of nearby Rehoboth Beach. The Inn is well situated on the canal about 15-20 minute walk from the beach and a short drive to Cape Henlopen State Park, which has long stretches of wide Atlantic beaches and dunes. The rooms are well appointed, clean and comfortable, and the property itself is well tended and well designed. The included European continental breakfast is ample and served in a sunlight room off the courtyard. We came with our dog, who was well received, and there are great places for walks. There are lots of good restaurants nearby and Gilligans is on the property although separately run. Staff are friendly and knowledgable. Highly recommended. We'll be back.

Room Tip: For dog owners, only one room is available. It's right by the Gilligans terrace which could be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WEC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Slightly more than two hours from Washington D.C., the Inn a Canal Square in Lewes, Delaware is a nicely appointed get-away. You are located on the water in quiet Lewes. The Inn is always spotless, and the staff members are welcoming and helpful. The decorations are tasteful, with fresh flowers filling the lobby and common areas every day. A continental breakfast, in a soothing breakfast nook, decorated in shades of green and lemon yellow, is a very pleasant way to start your day.

The town retains a relaxed waterfront charm, unblemished by the commercialism farther north and south along the shoreline. Small apparel shops and intimate restaurants are within walking distance from your room. Check out Marsha’s, for a local artist whose silkscreen fleece apparel is featured in national catalogs.

Visit Café Azafran for a lovely wine and tapas menu, and don’t miss the fried oysters. You’ll overhear folks who are comfortably dressed, but planning their next trip to various places in Europe. If you can get in, try Agave Mexican Restaurant for some fresh approaches to food from south of our borders. Apparently, the trick is to leave your name and cell phone, wander the town, and be called for your table about an hour later. Well worth doing!

No matter the season, a stay with the Inn at Canal Square is a chance to unwind in style, and to savor some of the fun of waterfront leisure.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank felinebeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 43rd Anniversary here with the Romantic Winter Escape Package. It included a beautiful Harbor Master room,champagne, a CD, breakfast brought to our room (beautifully presented), and a gift certificate for dinner. (We chose The Buttery, which was excellent). We enjoyed the friendly atmosphere at the Inn. We also loved the town of Lewes, and nearby outlet shopping, a winery and brewery visit were fun, too.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marian804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#2 of 7 in Lewes
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
2.8 mi away
Heritage Inn and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,765 reviews
3.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#16 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#7 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Canal Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Canal Square

Property: Inn at Canal Square
Address: 122 W Market St, Lewes, DE 19958-1340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront in the heart of Historic Lewes, The Inn at Canal Square offers its guests exceptional comfort coupled with seaside charm. With 22 beautifully appointed rooms, three 2BR luxury suites and 2 conference rooms, The Inn serves as an ideal coastal escape, retreat location and event destination. All accommodations are generously sized and most feature a balcony overlooking the Lewes Harbor. The Inn's romantic décor invites you to relax and unwind. The Inn is open year round and offers a complimentary, extensive European-Style breakfast.Centrally located, The Inn is a short distance away from unique shopping, fine dining and bay area beaches. And, it's within a mile of the ocean beaches of Cape Henlopen State Park. Visit the new Canal Front Park, located just next door and enjoy the seasonal flowers and a lovely view of the Lewes Harbor.Our friendly, professional staff is always on hand to assist you with dining options, shopping venues and other area attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Canal Square Hotel Lewes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing