We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The John Penrose Virden House
Ranked #4 of 9 Lewes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sewell, NJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
Reviewed August 30, 2008

I was looking to stay in a nice Bed & Breakfast while spending a few days with my mom to sight-see and shop in Lewes, Delaware. I booked the Penrose Room at the John Penrose Virden House after reviewing the pictures of this place on the Internet. The pictures didn't do it justice. The location is ideal since it is just steps away form the shops. This lovely home is beautifully furnished and the owners, Jim and Ruth make everything so comfortable, yet elegant. There was so much care and time to make the presentation of each breakfast course so lovely and delicious. They went out of their way to help with reservations and information to accommodate our needs. Lewes offers such a variety of shops and fine restaurants. We only had to walk a few steps from the shopping to find the tranquility of the garden out back or the cozy front porch. This place is the nicest B&B I've ever visited. The other guests were delightful, In fact, my mother and I laughed for two hours one night and even exchanged phone numbers with one lovely couple. What a relaxing and fun trip! I highly recommend this B&B to anyone!

Helpful?
1 Thank susitanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
84
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

I was shocked to learn that this would be the first review on Trip Advisor for this wonderful property. First and foremost, there are Jim and Ruth, the consumate hosts. Then there is the impecibly kept gardens, including herbs that are used generously in their creative menus. Then there is the well kept interior that is always spotless. The super large guest rooms that are nicely appointed and provide a wonderful, restful sleep. And finally the perfect cup of coffee to accompany the creative, ever changing menu. When in the area, don't miss this outstanding overnight experience in a terrific little town near the beach in Lewes!!

  • Liked — the host, the comfort, the breakfast
  • Disliked — could not stay longer
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zha-MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2008

What an amazing get away!
My husband and I visited Lewes and The Virden House for the first time and can not wait for our next trip. Ruth and Jim are the perfect hosts, we loved everything about our stay with them. The house and garden are beautiful as was our room. As mentioned in the description on their web site our room always had fresh (from the garden) flowers and fruit. It was wonderful to wake up to coffee and breakfast bread waiting at our door, served on beautiful china. Breakfast was such a treat (also served on china) and so relaxing. We choose to eat on the front porch and had a chance to chat with other guests.
The afternoon appetizers and wine was great after our adventures during the day, and a bite of chocolate before bed, perfect. Their attention to detail is impressive.
We were sorry to see our time come to an end but look forward to returing. Thank you Ruth and Jim, we loved everything!

Alyson and Brian, Florida

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — What is there to NOT like? WE like it all.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunsine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2008

We stayed at this bed and breakfast during our trip out for my mother-in-law's wedding. The whole family rented out the place. My husband and I had the Cottage room which was amazing. Ruth and Jim could not have been better hosts! We had a rehearsal party the night before the wedding that was comfortable and inviting. In addtion, the attention to detail and quality of breakfast was fantastic; edible flowers, amazing egg dishes and homemade syrup were a few highlights. I think the bar has been set quite high with this establishment and I hope that any future bed and breakfast experiences will match it!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank chawken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2007

This was a fantastic B&B. The hosts were very accomodating, the room was clean, beautiful and comfortable. The food was terrific. The location in Lewes was great. A pefect place to stay. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TysonsTraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2006

I took my wife here for a surprise weekend away. We are expecting our first child in March and wanted a "babymoon" of course the honeymoon is after the wedding and the babymoon is before the baby, but you get the picture. Upon arrival we were greeted and toured the house which is magnificant. We were asked about any food allergies or aversions so to be accomodated for our breakfasts. We spoke briefly with Jim & Ruth and they were the perfect blend of attentive and easy going. They made us feel right at home. The breakfasts were excellent, evening wine and snacks were provided.

If you contact them you will learn this, but keep in mind they do not take credit cards.

  • Liked — The Privacy
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2006

If you're looking for a charming B&B with lovely hospitality, delicious breakfasts, and Victorian charm, stay at the Virden House B&B in Lewes. Ruth and Jim Edwards are among the most gracious innkeepers I've ever met, who attend to their guests' every need. Ruth is a fantastic cook and her breakfasts are delightful -- beautifully prepared and presented, and individually served on lovely china. The Victorian house has been beautifully maintained with original flooring and gorgeous, exquisite antiques. The inn's location is excellent, just at the end of Second Street -- close enough to walk everywhere but still quiet for a good night's sleep. I've stayed at countless B&Bs over the years and the Virden Inn ranks at the top of the list. You won't be disappointed!

  • Liked — Ruth's breakfasts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teacherESL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#2 of 7 in Lewes
487 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
2.6 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#7 of 7 in Lewes
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
649 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#12 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The John Penrose Virden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The John Penrose Virden House

Property: The John Penrose Virden House
Address: 217 2nd St, Lewes, DE 19958-1325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing