We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to spend the day”

Cape Henlopen State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.00*
and up
History Happened Here Cruise
Ranked #1 of 51 things to do in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This oceanside state park comprises 155 campsites and the Seaside Nature Center.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Place to spend the day”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Only spent the day there but had a great time-- worth the $8 to park easily. Beaches were really nice and clean, even saw a pack of dolphins swimming by. They run a cool program where you can borrow bikes for free (just leave a copy of your ID on the desk), which was the best way to go around the park. Dunes are really pretty and the look-out towers are worth a visit. All in all, a really fun place to spend the stay

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Al J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    714
    226
    32
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Airy, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Beach in the Area”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

The beach area is the only area of this park I visit when I am in town. There is a parking fee to get in. I don't go to any of the other local area beaches any more after being at this one. It is a very natural type beach, lots of sea life and plants, nice sand, a few biting flies when the time and weather are right but bug spray helps that. Everything about it is really clean for an outdoor area. They have restrooms, showers, changing areas and a snack bar with great hamburgers! It does get crowded in-season like any beach but if you get there early it's not a problem. Don't go to a public beach anywhere else when in Lewes!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank dmowatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Berlin, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“October's a Beautiful Time at Cape Henlopen”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We spent an extended Columbus Day weekend at Cape Henlopen State Park. Much of what I thought about the park has already been said. It was a very enjoyable beach experience, and we didn't leave the park for the four days we were there. What we liked most was the unspoiled beauty of the natural coastline not marred by high rises or mega beach houses or other commercial establishments. We had our bikes, so we enjoyed riding the well-maintained trails. Plenty of hiking trails, too. We didn't go into any of the structures, but you could if you wanted.

Although it was a holiday weekend, the crowd was minimal- plenty of room for all. There were no bugs to speak of and the weather was gorgeous. Fall is a great time to visit Cape Henlopen.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank archwilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“History and the beach”
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Very interesting place, Fort Mills is a must see and they are expanding their exhibits as well. Learn what all the World War 2 towres in NJ and DE were used for. Then enjoy the beach, the hiking or offroading. There are also 2 lighthouses off of the cape. Great place for picture taking.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Grayhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Breathtaking & serene”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

The best advise we can give you is....plan your trip for at least one day at Cape Henlopen State Park. We did not do it justice in not planning enough time to venture around the entire expanse. However, what we did see and experience was nature at it's best from the greenery to the beach to the hiking trails and camps. If we could choose a place to live anywhere - it would be right there in the state park! Beautiful, envigorating yet tranquil.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie-says-so
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Henlopen State Park also viewed

 

Been to Cape Henlopen State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing