We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Shows the Sea Influence”
Review of Zwaanendael Museum

Zwaanendael Museum
Ranked #9 of 51 things to do in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum duplicates the architecture of a medieval Dutch town.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
126 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good, Shows the Sea Influence”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

While not a large museum, its collection has a focus and is orienting to the area, memorable. Show and understanding of the sea.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PeterNMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    47
    25
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Small and a little confusing”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We went to the museum because we thought it was about the settlement of the town of Lewes, a Dutch colony. Instead, there was an exhibit about air travel, the war of 1812 and some other small exhibits that I don't recall. Wish it was more about the Dutch settlement and the history of the town of Lewes.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great display of historic artifacts and maritime info”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Love learning about the discovery of Lewes by the Dutch and seeing the display of interesting artifacts found on the sunken ship HMS Debraak. Fantastic how the museum was designed after original town hall in Hoorn in Holland.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ervin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
320 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“not worth the time”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I didn't know what the museum was about. The person who was running it gave me background that was very interesting. Then she gave me her polictical views as to our current president and the opposing party. I was there for the museum not the debate. I did see one artifact that was cool to look at that a ships doctor would use to help prevent scurvy. I had a hard time drawing the connection with the Dutch and the town because as I mentioned above the political discussion took most of my time and my daughter was bored with the musuem by the time it was over.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Interesting worth a visit”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The best part of this museum is the merman skeleton :) This will be an insentive to get the children to participate!
This is an interesting museum. It is small museum, plan to stop in for 30 minutes or more if you find the information interesting. Lewes is rich in history. Zwaanendale is a great place to start your walking tour or day of shopping in town.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TGtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zwaanendael Museum also viewed

 

Been to Zwaanendael Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing