We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great display of historic artifacts and maritime info”
Review of Zwaanendael Museum

Zwaanendael Museum
Ranked #9 of 51 things to do in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum duplicates the architecture of a medieval Dutch town.
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great display of historic artifacts and maritime info”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Love learning about the discovery of Lewes by the Dutch and seeing the display of interesting artifacts found on the sunken ship HMS Debraak. Fantastic how the museum was designed after original town hall in Hoorn in Holland.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ervin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    48
    25
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
320 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“not worth the time”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I didn't know what the museum was about. The person who was running it gave me background that was very interesting. Then she gave me her polictical views as to our current president and the opposing party. I was there for the museum not the debate. I did see one artifact that was cool to look at that a ships doctor would use to help prevent scurvy. I had a hard time drawing the connection with the Dutch and the town because as I mentioned above the political discussion took most of my time and my daughter was bored with the musuem by the time it was over.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Interesting worth a visit”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The best part of this museum is the merman skeleton :) This will be an insentive to get the children to participate!
This is an interesting museum. It is small museum, plan to stop in for 30 minutes or more if you find the information interesting. Lewes is rich in history. Zwaanendale is a great place to start your walking tour or day of shopping in town.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TGtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“History”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A must see place in Lewes. Knowledgable staff and interesting exhibits about the history of Lewes. Nice place to visit on a nice day; walk around the ground, then go into town for lunch.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dryfly0618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Helpful staff”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Interesting small museum with information about the history of the town. We were on a genealogy trip and the staff members were helpful about where to search for additional information.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nylorac63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zwaanendael Museum also viewed

 

Been to Zwaanendael Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing