We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting on the water”

Abbott's on Broad Creek
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Laurel
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Innovative, American Cuisine with a focus on sourcing fresh, locally grown products. Open everyday at 11am for lunch & dinner. Join us on Sundays for our Sunday Brunch Buffet from 11am-2:30pm. On & Off Site catering available.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a lovely setting for a restaurant. Service is very slow, so allow plenty of time for lunch. The menu is rather specialized- oysters on a salad. Who puts oysters on a salad? But the complimentary hummus was delicious. Should have that on the menu with the great pita chips, pretzels and apple slices. I chose the Buffalo Chicken Sandwich and Cole Slaw. The sandwich was very large, a little spicy, but not too much so and topped with bacon and blue cheese dressing. It was very good. Way more calories than I would normally consume, but there was no grilled chicken or turkey or better choice. The cole slaw was strange- not the normal pale green of cabbage, but instead a guacamole green. No mayo- just vinegar. I normally love cole slaw but this was not good. This restaurant could do better, if it had more traditional and healthier sandwiches and salads.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mjshss2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked our Christmas Party at Abbotts Grill because we thought it was a top restaurant. We were wrong.
When we arrived the hostess could not find our reservation and suggested we go to the Milford location. We told her it was booked for 11 people at 7pm and she had the wrong name for the booking.Not a good start.
The service was terrible. We had a party of 10 which was pre booked 2 weeks prior so the there should have been enough staff to handle it and enough food.
Most of our party ordered from the daily menu. We ordered hour d'ouevres, but when one of our party
ordered the surf and turf spring rolls were were told we are out of those. We waited an hour for our hours d'ouevres to arrive.
Most of our party ordered the Delmonico steak dinner. One person asked for double asparagus instead of the mashed potatoes. When our meal finally arrived after a very long wait, we were served a very fat laden piece of meat and brussell sprouts.One person had a piece of steak that was no more then 4 oz. and all shriveled up. First the brussell sprouts were not cooked and several of our party do not eat brussell sprouts. Our waiter never told us they were out of asparagus or given us an option to order something else. The steak looked like you were trying to clean out your freezer to get rid of all your old steaks.One person asked the waiter for A1 steak and the waiter said we don't have steak sauce, this is not that kind of restaurant. There was not salt and pepper on the table and non ever appeared.Two people ordered the crab cake sandwich and one came with cole slaw and one came with macaroni salad. Neither the cole slaw or the macaroni salad looked edible and was not eaten. Not one person had a decent steak. Our total bill was $673.80 and we did not realize this included the tip and we added a tip to it. So we REALLY overpaid.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2018

Lunch and dinner was always very good at Abbott's but when I attended a Christmas luncheon recently with 60 people, it was very disappointing. The service was slow with only one server and the food was not up to par. The crab cake sandwich was excellent but the roast beef sandwich was half empty and the chicken waldorf salad had very little chicken in it. And served on a bed of lettuce meant one leaf, not a salad. There was no water on the tables. Although we were told soft drinks would be included, there were no sodas offered and in fact no drinks were served. If you wanted anything to drink (water, coffee, tea) you had to get up and get it yourself. It was terrible. Dessert was also served buffet style and there was not enough. We paid for a sit down luncheon but I had to leave my seat several times to serve myself and others at my table. Such a disappointment! Since this event I have heard similar reports from other members of our group who did not attend this luncheon because they had a previous similar experience at other group parties at Abbott's. This place has great potential but they really need to step it up on the catering side of the business.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Marianne19947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

First time at this restaurant and I walked away very pleased. Our party each had a different dish and everyone enjoyed their meal tremendously. The table service we had was the best we had experienced from many higher classed restaurants.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jamesxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

Inasmuch as we are local, we like supporting this eatery. The food is consistently good quality. Sometimes it is not up to the level you might expect, specifically over cooking some beef entrees. When so, they will gladly make it right.

During the week at dinner and at some lunches, they have been short staffed (only one server) and as you might expect those are the days they need two for sure. So if you are not in a hurry it’s no problem.

Very nice deck for outdoor dining on the creek.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank V5184DGgeorgek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbott's on Broad Creek also viewed

 

Been to Abbott's on Broad Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing