We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Banquet facilities need improvement.”

Abbott's on Broad Creek
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Laurel
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Innovative, American Cuisine with a focus on sourcing fresh, locally grown products. Open everyday at 11am for lunch & dinner. Join us on Sundays for our Sunday Brunch Buffet from 11am-2:30pm. On & Off Site catering available.
Reviewed December 14, 2018

Lunch and dinner was always very good at Abbott's but when I attended a Christmas luncheon recently with 60 people, it was very disappointing. The service was slow with only one server and the food was not up to par. The crab cake sandwich was excellent but the roast beef sandwich was half empty and the chicken waldorf salad had very little chicken in it. And served on a bed of lettuce meant one leaf, not a salad. There was no water on the tables. Although we were told soft drinks would be included, there were no sodas offered and in fact no drinks were served. If you wanted anything to drink (water, coffee, tea) you had to get up and get it yourself. It was terrible. Dessert was also served buffet style and there was not enough. We paid for a sit down luncheon but I had to leave my seat several times to serve myself and others at my table. Such a disappointment! Since this event I have heard similar reports from other members of our group who did not attend this luncheon because they had a previous similar experience at other group parties at Abbott's. This place has great potential but they really need to step it up on the catering side of the business.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Marianne19947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 105 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2018

First time at this restaurant and I walked away very pleased. Our party each had a different dish and everyone enjoyed their meal tremendously. The table service we had was the best we had experienced from many higher classed restaurants.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jamesxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

Inasmuch as we are local, we like supporting this eatery. The food is consistently good quality. Sometimes it is not up to the level you might expect, specifically over cooking some beef entrees. When so, they will gladly make it right.

During the week at dinner and at some lunches, they have been short staffed (only one server) and as you might expect those are the days they need two for sure. So if you are not in a hurry it’s no problem.

Very nice deck for outdoor dining on the creek.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank V5184DGgeorgek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2018

Had out of town guests with us and thought we were taking them to some place special...were we wrong!. Waitress had to tell us right off, she was working by herself so bear with her - not my problem.....not impressed with the menu, could fine no sides of any kind listed, lots of sandwiches etc. But, the flys made our meal just miserable - not one or two but many, on our food, on our hands, on our faces. We were constantly swipping them away...did mention it to our waitress and she just agreed the flys were terrible....she brought my husbands second glass of wine when she brought the check, ten minutes after he had ordered it.....We were embarassed for our guests and have no plans to ever return.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jdcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, Owner at Abbott's on Broad Creek, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our restaurant. We're so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience when dining with us. Being that our restaurant is right on the water, sometimes in the warmer months flies are a known issue. We do have pest control in place to try to combat the flies but unfortunately sometimes it's not enough to completely rid our establishment of them. Your thoughts have been shared with our management staff in order for us to continue to improve & we would like to extend an offer to send you a voucher to use at a future visit. If you would like this, please reach out to us at info@abbottsgrill.com so we can get your mailing address & contact information. Thank you again for your feedback & we hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018

Fun on Trivia Night. Very Popular. Drinks are very good, iced cold. Food excellently prepared and wait staff kind and friendly.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank mwcuskelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbott's on Broad Creek also viewed

 

Been to Abbott's on Broad Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing