We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large portions but skip the dessert”

Abbott's on Broad Creek
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Laurel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Innovative, American Cuisine with a focus on sourcing fresh, locally grown products. Open everyday at 11am for lunch & dinner. Join us on Sundays for our Sunday Brunch Buffet from 11am-2:30pm. On & Off Site catering available.
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
167 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Large portions but skip the dessert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Didn't want to venture out to eat but chose to get carryout from this restaurant. Can't speak on behalf of the wait service since it was carryout. Ordered the crabcake and the fish and chips. Both were delicious. The fish and chips was a far better deal with huge portions. The aioli sauce on the crabcake was superb. Only disappointment was the dessert. Really wished we had spent that extra money on an appetizer instead. The Smith Island cake was $8 for a very small slice and it was not good at all. Tasted like it had been sitting around a while. The icing had absorbed a weird taste making me think it was definitely not fresh. The key lime pie had a very bland whipped topping. This place is pretty expensive. $16 for a crabcake sandwich and french fries. I would go back based on the flavor and portions of the main entrees but definitely would not try the dessert again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank momof4inmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    23
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food is expensive and poorly prepared”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

My wife and I have been going here since it opened and the food has gone rapidly down hill. The atmosphere and service are good, but the last two meals we have had there have been so poorly prepared neither of us ate half of it. We were really hoping this was going to be a regular spot for us, but I doubt we will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank aswile888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Great Atmosphere, Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Husband and I joined his parents here for lunch on July 4th. We were extremely impressed with the atmosphere, decor, and ambiance provided by Abbott's. They have a small bar/pub area that would be perfect for happy hours, a great deck along the creek, and a wonderful array of tables in front of large windows where you can see downtown Laurel. White tablecloths, wine glasses, and cloth napkins as well.

The food was very good, highly recommend the crab cake sandwich. A mound of jumbo crab on a buttery brioche bun with either pasta salad or fries. The Fish and Chips was also extremely juicy and fresh, however we were disappointed with only two pieces of fish. I got the Cobb salad with grilled chicken, and was pleased with its size, as well as the homemade ginger vinaigrette dressing. I really wanted to get the Salmon or Shrimp on the salad, but that was an extra $12 over the regular price of the salad ($7.95) - way too much for a salad. The quality of the food overall is that of a 5 star restaurant, however for the area, I felt the prices were a little on the expensive side. I can easily see paying $15 for a gourmet burger in tourist areas like Rehoboth or Ocean City, but not Laurel, DE.

We will likely return, as they had a great brunch menu for Sundays as well as nice pub happy hour specials.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Alasassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagsboro, Delaware
Level Contributor
208 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very good food...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stopped in on a Sunday. It was brunch time, but we opted for the menu. Happen to be $3 mimosa day so we began with these. Then we had the white bean bruschetta. Delicious. Had chunks of roasted garlic and carrots. We both ordered the brisket sandwich. Wow. Huge with tender brisket and housemade fries. Sauce was tangy and tasty. Prices were good. Service was good. Would definitely come back again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeville, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Here we go! This is the newest Abbott's Grill at Laurel, DE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We took our daughter to this Abbott's Grill for Fathers Day. What a treat! We were so happy with the excellent waiter and, of course, the fabulous food, we brought our son and his wife the following Wednesday. The dining event was such a pleasure when my daughter-in-law said that this was one of the best meals she has had--and she travels all over world! The chef is an artist with the food. When we mentioned that the plates were fabulous, he was smiling from ear-to-ear. He loves his work! So refreshing. This is a lovely place, comfortable and not too formal.
Can't wait to do this all again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbott's on Broad Creek also viewed

 

Been to Abbott's on Broad Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing