We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice trails and butterfly garden”

Ashland Nature Center
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Hockessin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ashland Nature Center serves as the Delaware Nature Society’s headquarters and the hub for its education and natural resource conservation activities. The site is open to the public year-round, features an overnight lodge for school and public groups, a seasonal butterfly house, picnic area and four self-guided trails through a variety of habitats. Free and low-cost programs are offered for all ages. Enjoy the Ashland Hawk Watch during the fall raptor migration.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice trails and butterfly garden”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I enjoyed the walks in and around the grounds with my fiancé and dog. Bathrooms were kind of rough, but what do you expect at a nature center. When I was a child, I remember having a school trip here. We stayed overnight and had a lot of fun. Learned a little bit too!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Champ14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    9
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, DE
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Lots to See”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Ashland Nature Center offers many trails and a great deal of wildlife. A great place for avid bird watchers.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SEK65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a nice day”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Spent a lovely Sunday exploring the beauty of this place - My children went to camp here many years ago but I have not been back for over 15 years. Things have changed a bit but not the glory of spending time walking a seeing nature at its finest. Join as a member and you get to enjoy alot more than the average.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Traci W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“LOVE the Nature Center!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great place for a nice, quiet hike. We take the dogs here every chance we get. There are several trails with some weather and nature stations along the way so you can learn something, too. Often see parties or campers here, which is nice. The Hawk Watch information is awesome, too. Enjoy the beautiful views!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kennam320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
191 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Great place for kids”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great place for kids (and adults) to spend an afternoon learning about native animals and flowers in our area.

Helpful?
Thank Sandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ashland Nature Center also viewed

 

Been to Ashland Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing