We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean/organized/comfortable!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Harrington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Harrington
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Harrington
Certificate of Excellence
Duncannon, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“clean/organized/comfortable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

When working in the state of Delaware, I use this motel most often due in fact that it is centrally located in the middle of the state. Its overall outside appearance speaks volumes to the weary traveler and extends a warm welcome. Once inside, the appearance is even better than the outside! Im always greeted by a friendly face at registration. The rooms are first class and one thing I'm always sure of is that the room are thoroughly cleaned daily. Ask yourselves a question about some of the motels you've stayed in.........would you take a bath in the bathtub? I am a professional man and work on the railroad. Some days, a nice hot bath is welcomed after a hard day afield. I NEVER worry about the tub being cleaned at this motel & have soaked away many a rough day. I do enjoy the resturants and even the casino that are within a mile in either direction.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrington, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Alan H, Thank you for such a wonderful review! I'm so glad you feel comfortable and able to relax 100% while staying with us.We look forward to your next visit,its always a pleasure too see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    36
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
42
31
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Based on other reviews here, I expected more. Checking was quick and pleasant. As soon as we emerged from the elevator on the second floor, there was a stale stench of smoke even though all of the doors had a no smoking sign posted on them? Upon entering the room at the nearly empty hotel, we immediately could hear people in the room above us stomping around. Why would they put us in a second floor room directly under people when the hotel was not even at half capacity and we were in for only one night? We thought that by the time we returned from the casino it would not be an issue, so we headed over to Harrington to use our free slot dollars (more about that on a casino review). We returned to the room around 9:30 PM and it sounded as though marching band practice was taking place above complete with some banging noises from the percussion section. I inquired about the issue and was told the would need to check into it and they may be able to move us. At that point we decided to tough it out with drowning out the noise with our television. The TV was, in fact, was quite nice. A large HD flat screen. We ended up having a restful night. The morning brought more issues with ice cold water from the sink even after letting the water run for 5-10 minutes. The front desk clerk had no idea why that would be. After a mediocre breakfast, with a hair in my eggs. My husband and I returned to the room hoping for a warm shower. I went first and had hot water, but two-thirds of the way through my husband 's shower the hot water ran out. The staff was friendly, but there was no maintenance on duty to address the issue. Not what I expect as a platinum IHG member.

Room Tip: Top floor room away from highway nay be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KebbieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrington, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Please accept my sincere apologies.I am so sorry to hear that you encountered so many issues while staying at our property. The issues were never brought to my attention. I can assure you I would have made this right before you left the property. Here at Harrington Holiday Inn Express we want to ensure every guest has a wonderful experience while staying with us. Please contact me at the hotel so we can further discuss the issues you have noted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampton Roads
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have stayed here a number of times over the last few years. It's a great stay when visiting Harrington or Dover as well as a way point when heading north for family visits.

The grounds are kept up and the hotel and rooms have always been clean and comfortable for us.

Our Priority membership is recognized and we are treated well each stay.

The staff on our last visit were professional and eager to help as needed .

I would recommend this property to any traveler .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank w8n4simplertimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrington, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are always happy to hear from our return guests. I will agree our staff does a great job of taking care of our guests.Satisfaction is our # 1 goal! I will pass along the review to our staff We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and another couple stayed one night at this hotel on November 9, 2013. I check in was quick, employees were very friendly and helpful . We were given bottled water and snacks at check-in. There was coffee, tea , hot chocolate and cookies for your pleasure all evening. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. This was one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in including the hotels at Dover Downs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosetta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrington, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Our entire staff thanks you for the wonderful review and heartfelt comments. It makes a big difference to all of our guests,as it did for you,that every guest feels welcomed and appreciated. We are glad our staff took good care of you and we hope to see you and your friends on a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

It's nice to see consistency in a hotel chain. Never have had any issues when reserving a room. Great location, friendly staff and clean rooms. Free shuttle to Harrington Casino and Raceway. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunsetCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrington, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments on our property. Here at Holiday Inn Express we strive to make every guests stay memorable and encourage return visits.We look forward to seeing you back to enjoy another stay here as well as having a little fun at the casino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Spacious clean rooms, comfortable beds, amazing full breakfast & very friendly staff. As rewards members we received a welcome bag at check in with water/snack and also a late check out which we really needed. The price might be a little higher than you are used to but they go above & beyond to make your stay the best!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itisanewseason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrington, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for being a Member of the IHG Reward Program. Its good to hear that you enjoyed the local perks such as your welcome "goodie bags" and the later checkout. Our staff will appreciate all the nice comments you left regarding the room cleanliness,breakfast and the friendlness of our employees. Hope to see you on a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

My dad and I decided to go on a two day mini-trip down to Delaware for short getaway. This was the place we chose since the Holiday Inn Express in Bethany Beach. We booked a suite room, and we were given the BEST SUITE IN THE HOUSE! There was a big cathedral window, a couch/pull out bed, a kitchenette, a dinette, and two queen beds. The Internet was mediocre which was kind of a suprise. My connection was down to three bars but I survived.
The breakfast bar was just fine and there were no problems withthe food.
My dad and I had the whole outdoor swimming pool to ourselves when we were there. I took advantage of the fitness center.
I will definitely stay here again whenever I come back to Delaware. This is a great hotel and I think anyone else who will stay there will love it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrington, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit such a nice review.I am happy to know you and your dad enjoyed your stay with us. I'm sure you enjoyed having the pool all to yourself, the weather has been wonderful. We look forward to having you as a return guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrington
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#2 of 3 in Harrington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Milford
Hampton Inn Milford
#1 of 3 in Milford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
6.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Milford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Dover Downs Hotel & Casino
14.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dover
17.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Harrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Harrington

Property: Holiday Inn Express Harrington
Address: 17271 S Dupont Hwy, Harrington, DE 19952-2484
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Harrington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Harrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Harrington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Central Delaware and Kent County s 'smartest' secret, the 2007 Quality Excellence award-winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Harrington. Located less than a mile from the Harrington Raceway and Casino and just south of Dover Air Force Base, this property offers much to travelers. Centrally positioned, we are also a short drive from Dover Downs Speedway and Casino and Delaware beaches. Many businesses such as Color Box, Perdue, Baltimore Air Coil, and Pepsi are within minutes of the hotel. Begin your day with our complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar then enjoy a refreshing swim in our seasonal outdoor heated pool. Don't forget about the area's numerous tax free shopping opportunities! Cap off your night by trying you luck at either of our two local casinos then come back and relax in our Smart Bedding Collection. Let us be your host and you will know why our guests always return! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Harrington Hotel Harrington
Holiday Inn Harrington
Harrington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing