We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Evening!”

The Brick Restaurant & Tavern
Ranked #1 of 35 Restaurants in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $29
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Dine in the unique historic ambiance of The Brick, while enjoying classic American cuisine! Serving lunch and dinner Tuesday - Saturday, and Brunch on Sunday. Check our website for current hours and menus.
Seaford, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Lovely Evening!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We moved to southern Delaware recently. So did my sister-in-law and brother-in law. We are gradually getting acquainted with the restaurants and other places of interest in the area. Last week we came across an ad for a special Valentine's dinner offered by The Brick Restaurant and Tavern in nearby Georgetown, which is the County Seat of Delaware's Sussex County. We decided this would be a great time to try this lovely place that we have heard so much about since moving to the area.

The restaurant is located in a beautiful old colonial hotel built many years ago on the town circle near the county courthouse and other municipal buildings. It also happens to be the only upscale eatery in the center of beautiful colonial Georgetown, and is a mainstay of the town's business and social community.

Our reservations were for dinner at 6:30 for the four of us!

The hotel and restaurant has ample parking behind the large three or four story brick building, and is easily accessible. The main entrance is lovely, facing the small park in the center of the traffic circle. Arriving, we entered into a nicely furnished room where there is a lounge area with a small, but lovely bar which seats patrons waiting for arrivals, or just stopping by for refreshment.

Other than the gentleman bartender, and a handful of patrons, no one else was present.

Eventually a young man dressed in a crisp white shirt and black vest and tie arrived to greet us. After checking our reservations, he led us through a room with a fireplace and a lovely fire. Several customers occupied tables there. Continuing on we entered a very lovely large dining area set with appropriate red and white decorations with large windows looking out onto the streetscape.

We were seated at a table right in front of one of the windows. We were entertained by a musician playing a saxophone.

But our attention soon became focused on the servers and other staff who seamed to be unprepared for customers! We all had ordered wine, and waited! Our four glasses of wine arrived twenty minutes later. Customers at other tables seemed to be getting as much attention as we were. We had plenty of time to study the special Valentine's Day menu which featured five or six entrees and a short selection of appetizers, soup, salads and desserts. By the time we had our drinks we had consumed our requested basket of rolls. After another tedious wait our order was taken. We each ordered a soup or salad and a choice of entrée!

As we conversed we noticed the arrival of additional staff. Our entrees included two orders of crab cakes, an order of chicken Kiev, and an order of sirloin steak. The spinach salad was delicious, but was a small portion, but the cream of crab soup was excellent! The crab cakes were also excellent, the chicken Kiev was very tasty, but the steak was not up to expectations.

The crab cakes came with four small sprigs of asparagus that looked lonely on a plate with nothing else but crab cakes served on top of mashed sweet potatoes. Had the crab cakes been paired with a different potato or starch and a more generous portion of asparagus, the order might have been a five star choice.

The steak meal was left half eaten, and appeared to be a subpar cut. We skipped dessert and had only one glass of wine each.

Every restaurant has days that just do not come off quite right! The Brick Hotel is an icon and serves a very important part in Georgetown's commerce. We hope it remains in service for many years to come! We will give it another chance some day.

I would stress, having travelled extensively and dined at many places great and small, good service cannot be undervalued. Even with an excellent chef, as I believe to be the case at The Brick Hotel, a few small mistakes are much more likely to pass with little notice, when the service is excellent and well planned. Our experience was probably not the norm here, and it was apparent that management slipped! Staff was not properly trained or prepared for the occasion and no one took charge.

Management, please consider this message an effort to correct what you might not have noticed!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBrick, Owner at The Brick Restaurant & Tavern, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Please know that your comments are very much appreciated and are being given proper attention. Quite simply stated, the evening you dined with us was fraught with problems; thank you for recognizing that this is not likely the norm at our restaurant. And you are totally correct that management was lacking. Regrettably, as the owner, I was not able to be there that evening, and my manager ended up on the floor serving customers (due to unforeseen circumstances that left us short-staffed). Thus, some of our customers suffered and received less than the quality of service I expect them to receive -- not just one time, but every time they visit.. If the evening turned out to be a disappointment to our customers, you can multiply that ten-fold as to my disappointment. I am hopeful you will have the opportunity to return sometime so that you can enjoy the service and food quality that is our norm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    47
    27
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Valentines day special menu”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Showed up for our reservation on time. Waited for someone to notice we were there....waited a while.. Finally we were seated and we waited for someone to take our drink orders. No wine list presented at the table, had to ask then wait...Finally a wine list and we ordered and then waited again only to find that one wine was not available. So we ordered again and waited. About 30 minutes into our reservation we finally got our wine. Ordered dinner from the special menu. Wife wanted crab cakes but is not big on sweet potatoes as a side wanted a baked potatoe instead. Sure for an extra charge!!! Give me a break! Got the sweet potatoes. Special spinich salad arrived with all of 20 spinich leaves, two thin slices of egg and a shot glass sized portion of bacon, onion dressing. For $8 this was a real rip off. The dressing was actually quite good but not even enough to partially wet the spinich. Wife got her crab cakes 4 skinny pieces of asparagas and her sweet potatoes. She said the crab cakes were quite good but the inablily to have a regualr potatoe took away from the meal. I got the sirloin,, baked potatoe and string beans. Steak was tasty but full of gristle. Beans were tasty but hard. The potatoe was ok, but who can't bake a potatoe.Left sort of dissapointed and will not go back. $89 was not worth the experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Darryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBrick, Owner at The Brick Restaurant & Tavern, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
It is unfortunate that you did not have the opportunity to review the special menu prior to your visit with us. While our normal menu service offers unlimited opportunities for substitutions to the menu, our menus designed for special occasions do not. I am truly sorry that this ruined your experience with us and that we did not meet your expectations.

My guess is that you may have been dining with the other folks who wrote a review, but if not, please read my response to their concerns with regard to the poor level of service. While you left disappointed, I am hopeful that you will visit us again, perhaps on a night where you can enjoy a great valued dinner and the type of service you should expect to receive when you dine with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A restaurant with character and good food”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

The Brick is in my hometown and it is a wonderful place to eat. Have been there for lunch on many occasions, never disappoints. There is usually a yummy quiche of the day and I love their fries. With so many heavy home cooking places in the area the Brick is a breath of fresh air. There food is all fresh and yummy. Oh and the chocolate flour less cake is unbelievable!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Karbear123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBrick, Owner at The Brick Restaurant & Tavern, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thanks! We always appreciate hearing from our locals. Thanks for your kind words and ongoing support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We had an excellent dinner here the other night, we both ordered the oyster pot pie. I felt the crust was slightly undercooked and the pie was a bit runny for me, I prefer something with more body to it, but other than this, dinner was delicious overall. Our napkins had a strange smell to them also.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Weezulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GREAT Paino Player; Poor Service, but Great Food!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We live in Berlin, MD and always pass the billboard for this restaurant. We arrived and no one was at the front, so we waited and waited, finally some one comes and seats us, but no one waits on us or brings us water, bread or anything. But the table next to us is cleared off, new tablecloth applied and reset. We are ignored. The waitress comes over and asks us what we would like and gives us water, then we wait and watch her deliver food to two other tables. Finally, she comes over and goes over the specials, we order wine and food. And continue to watch one item brought here and there. Bread is served and I taste the butter, sweet with honey!! We were not informed of this!! We asked for regular butter. The food was excellent the Shrimp and Lobster Ravioli was the BEST I have ever had. The Fried Oysters my husband had were okay. We shall return, but PLEASE retrain staff that the customers are there to be waited on!! Resetting tables is okay if all of the customers have water and bread first!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brick Restaurant & Tavern also viewed

 
Georgetown, DE
 

Been to The Brick Restaurant & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing