We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in a lovely town...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brick Hotel On The Circle
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were looking for a nice quiet place to relax for a few days and got exactly that. The owners have done a wonderful job renovating this lovely old building, everything is beautiful. The furnishings are some of the most interesting pieces we have seen anywhere. The extra snacks when we arrived after a long hot ride were a nice touch.

The restaurant was very good and the service excellent. We will probably be back. The location was convenient to the beach and the Lewes Ferry. Thanks Lynn for a wonderful few days.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadster112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBrick, Owner at Brick Hotel On The Circle, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thanks for your kind comments, and so happy to hear that you got what you were looking for with your stay at The Brick! Looking forward to our paths crossing again sometime in the future. Happy Fall!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
There are newer reviews for Brick Hotel On The Circle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 466 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at The Brick a couple of years ago and were so pleased we did not hesitate to book another stay during a recent visit to Delaware. Lynn and her team do a great job - hospitable and warm. The hotel itself a beautiful building and the rooms are comfortable. The only downside to our room was you could hear water running through the pipes all night long - but I suppose that is not unusual for an old building with three floors and multiple rooms. They have added very nice touches like water and snacks in the room (at no charge!), as well as bathrobes and towel warming bars. The parlor is open all night and offers coffee and tea at your leisure, as well as a community pc. The continental breakfast was simple, but adequate.

We were looking for some quiet, down time while on this trip, and this is the place for it. It is definitely an adult oriented hotel, with rules and guidelines for staying with children. This is not to say they are unfriendly to children, but they do have some rules regarding staying with children so it is best to do your research before booking. We personally enjoyed the quite.

The Hotel does have a restaurant and bar, but in keeping with a quite atmosphere you won't find it open late, and the bar is small and quite. They close at 9, and this includes the bar. That was one disappointment. After a long day out we were looking forward to a night cap when we returned at 9:15, but everything was all locked up and dark. Both restaurant and bar are closed completely on Mondays.

We'd recommend The Brick to travelers in the area - even if you are bound for the beaches this would be a nice place. It is within 20-30 minutes of many of the beaches - and so much more quiet and restful than many of the places you would find in the more populous areas.

Thanks Lynn and Ed for another nice stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClearwaterJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

From the initial encounter with the staff, the feeling was one of comfort. Tom helped us to our room.
We met the inn keeper , Lynn, outside and she is a wealth of knowledge about what to do, and the best way to do it.
The amenities were unexpected, and the rooms were wonderful.. Such cozy robes and warm towels.
I loved the wine pairing! Garth, Lisa, Jo(a NY gal), along with Debbie were just so welcoming.
It was my first visit there, but certainly will not be my last. I'm still talking about the "shroom" burger.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nyacker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBrick, Owner at Brick Hotel On The Circle, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

So glad you and your mom "found" us, and that you enjoyed our quiet little town!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Recently went there just as a get-away trip. The staff was very friendly, as was the owner, Lynn. The bathroom was spotless, the room itself was very, very nice. The extra amenities were an unexpected surprise. We were welcomed with snacks and sodas in our room, and then told to help ourselves to popcorn, coffee and juice in the small reception area. The breakfast had fresh fruit in the mornings, along with muffins and scones, and the restaurant was reasonable and delicious. Couldn't find anything lacking at all. It was a relaxing and quiet stay, which is exactly what I was hoping for.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back side if you can. The traffic in the circle can be a little noisy, but not...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellers21075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Recently stayed here for a family trip to Sports at the Beach (without kids) and couldn't have been happier with our selection. We have been to the Rehoboth area 5-6 times now and this is the only place I am going to go back to. If you are looking for a place to stay that is super clean, has a great atmosphere, and great service, look no further. From planned activities, to the on-site restaurant, to the various sitting rooms and balconies/porches scattered around the building you will not be disappointed. I consider this an excellent value for what is provided considering the prices that are found in many other establishments in the general area (Rehoboth/Seaford). I won't consider staying anywhere else next time we are in the area!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bmikel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the Brick Hotel last weekend and truly enjoyed our stay. Our room was a good size and everything was perfect: clean, comfortable, modern but with a lot of old charm. There were free beverages and snacks, and even individual bathrobes, in the room - a luxury often found only in 4-5 stars hotels. The owners and staff were extremely nice and helpful. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, but it is particularly convenient to those who are on their way to or from a day at the beach - Rehoboth is about 30-40 minutes drive from the hotel.
The restaurant was a pleasant setting and promising menu - but to match the quality of the hotel, there is room for improvement in the implementation. The staff is really trying hard and deserves training so they can be more professional in that formal environment. The menu is quite diversified (though it takes some doing to locate the dinner part of the menu; hint: it's after the wine list). The food itself unfortunately lacks subtlety. My partner's crab cakes were good but the plate was dominated by sweet potatoes over-cooked and over-powered by the taste of cinnamon. My shrimp ravioli were submerged in a thick white sauce. The ravioli themselves were good but the delicate flavor of the shrimp needs a more judicious sauce. All but one of the desserts are chocolate, and the restaurant doesn't serve espresso.
Overall, our meal was good, but if the same high standards applied to the hotel could be applied to the restaurant - it could have been great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beth a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the Brick Hotel last week-end and truly enjoyed our stay. Our room was spacious and everything was perfect: clean, convenient, modern but with a lot of old charm. They even had individual bathrobes - a luxury often found only in 4-5 stars hotels. The owners and staff were extremely nice and helpful and we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

As per the restaurant, it was also nice but not great. It is sad because the staff is really trying hard. The a-la-carte menu is quite diversified and looks great. The food itself unfortunately lacks subtlety. My partner's crab cakes were good but the plate was mostly made of a pile of sweet potatoes over-cooked and over-powered by the taste of cinnamon.
My shrimp raviolis were covered with a thick white sauce - so much that we could barely see the raviolis. The raviolis themselves were good but I still wonder if the sauce was supposed to be a bechamel, a mornay or a cheese sauce. It did not taste much and was totally drowning the delicate flavor of the shrimps.

Overall the meal was good but if the same standards of excellence applied to the hotel would be transferred to the restaurant - it could have been great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gulliver2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgetown
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Georgetown Delaware Beaches
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 4 in Georgetown
138 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#2 of 7 in Lewes
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Seaford
Hampton Inn Seaford
#1 of 6 in Seaford
317 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
660 reviews
14.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brick Hotel On The Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brick Hotel On The Circle

Address: 18 The Circle, Georgetown, DE 19947-1501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range: $123 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brick Hotel On The Circle 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brick Hotel On The Circle is a circa 1836 National Historic property that underwent a total restoration in 2008. It was restored to its original use as an Inn with 14 guest rooms with private baths, and each is uniquely furnished. Located in the small, historic town of Georgetown, Delaware, we are within 15 miles of resort areas, beaches and shopping outlets in Lewes & Rehoboth Beach. Each of our rooms is uniquely different, with rates ranging from $110 - $250/night that include continental breakfast and complimentary wine pairing. The Inn is complemented by a full service restaurant & tavern, serving lunch and dinner Tuesday - Saturday, with live dinner music on the weekends. The Brick's restaurant also offers private event venues, offering full service catering and event coordination. Be it a quiet getaway, a visit to the beach without the high prices and hustle bustle, or a special celebration, The Brick has something for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Brick Hotel On The Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing