We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to unwind - we will return next year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brick Hotel On The Circle
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to unwind - we will return next year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

My wife and I just spent two nights at the Brick Hotel On The Circle, Georgetown DE and we very much enjoyed our stay.

A few days before our stay the owners emailed a short type of letter indicating that they were looking forward to our visit (that was very friendly and refreshing) and gave us some ideas of some things to do in the vicinity. We are used to arriving at a hotel and picking up a brochure of Things To Do near the Front Desk but in this case the information was sent to us so that we could consider the possibilities in advance or our arrival. Each item gave a brief description and at the end of the letter she says that if there is any way that she can help with your planning, to let her know. That advance (email) letter was a very nice touch.


We felt that it really was the sort of place that was approx. 75% hotel and 25% B&B. We don't think think that was a bad thing.
I'll try to explain:

In the hotel sense: It had rooms with private baths (in our case at least, we had a very nice/roomy shower and for us a more than satisfactorily large bedroom to boot) (our room was on the second floor). Our room was clean and the bed/bedding extremely comfortable, they have an internal restaurant (Tue – Sat 11:00 AM – 9:00 PM and a tavern and complementary Wi-Fi. We were not there on a Sunday morning but we understand they have an AUCE Sunday morning breakfast buffet (Sun 9:00 AM – 1:00 PM, $9.00). We did not eat in the restaurant at any meal (we were in other locations much of our daylight/evening hours and ate elsewhere) BUT from the on-line reviews that I read earlier they seemed to, in general, cause favorable reports to be generated. The Brick Hotel also have a Veranda or Rooftop Garden Terrace. They have flat screen televisions in the rooms and an impressive list of channels can be viewed. It is our understanding that each room is unique so you should call to determine if they can accommodate your personal needs.

In the B&B sense: At times there is someone in/near the hotel office but they don't have a 24-hour person manning the desk – certainly not overnight BUT the lady owner of the husband/wife team does give you her cell phone number in the event you have a pressing need/situation and that should put your mind at ease. There are no phones in the rooms (and no wake-up calls) but who really needs them in this electronic age anyway.
The building was previously a bank because there is a wine cellar type of room in the banks former vault (very creative) but the floor plan did not feel sterile/commercial like in most hotels or a commercial building - it was more like being in someone home with it's irregular size rooms and hallways.
The Brick Hotel has an “included” morning continental breakfast that is available in “The Parlor” on the second floor. Yes, there are tables and chairs but its the overstuffed chairs and sofas make it feel like you are in someones home.
Our bathroom included two furnished white bathrobes and you were even somewhat encouraged to, if so inclined, to wear one and glide out to partake in the complementary continental breakfast. That doesn't sound like a regular hotel.
Each room was individually decorated/furnished and unique unto itself and successfully credits the hotels private ownership and operation.
During our two day stay I think that we interacted with most if not all of the staff and each one seemed to be knowledgeable, caring and friendly.


Comment: While the materials presented (i.e. web site, printed material in the 3-ring helpful info binder in each room, the advance welcoming letter (sent via email) did give a wealth of information and each was well presented, we could not find a reference to whether or not the snacks/sodas in the room were complementary or if there was a charge (and how much if there was a charge). We didn't need to consume any of these items but disseminating that info would be helpful to others.

Room Tip: FYI: 1. They do have an elevator but it does only go between the first and second floors (only) me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poptop2599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    60
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
74
240
33
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Winola, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a girls get together and this is just the PERFECT place to stay. The rooms are FAB, clean as a whisle and the staff will bend over backwards to make sure you are happy. The wine and food pairing is a really nice touch and really quite good. The bar staff was great as was the Manager, Garth and waitstaff etc. We had dinner in both nights as we had beached it both days and the serenity of the hotel, dining room and roof top deck just makes you feel like you are home without having any work to do!!! I would highly recommend coming here and we will be back soon. Lynn does an EXCELLENT job!

Room Tip: Elevator only goes to second floor so if you don't like steps don't go to third floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewengen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, VA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had a great experience at The Brick. Our room, The Baker, was in the older section of the hotel on the second floor. It was small-ish, but charming and very comfortable. We were right across the hall from the parlor area where the coffee maker was always available, and continental breakfast was provided each morning. A small drawback was there was no closet in our room. I had taken a few hangers, so I was able to hang a few items on the hooks on the wall. There was some traffic noise from the circle, but it certainly didn't interfere with our sleep.
We had great weather, so we got to enjoy the covered porches and the rooftop terrace. The bar and restaurant were super. Lynn, Ed, and staff were friendly and helpful. We would be glad to return for another visit.

Room Tip: If you want a larger room with a closet, ask for one in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBLKingGeorge_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach Haven, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

For the second year in a row we stayed at The Brick. It just became an annual trip. First year we went as 2 couples. This year was intended to be the same but trying to coordinate dates turned it into a girls getaway.
What fun we had. As always Lynn is so very gracious and her staff was as well. From the manager Garth to Debbie, April,Tommy,and Nickie we were treated like family.
Happy hour at the bar came with a lovely appetizer and a wine paring. Delicious, as was dinner in the restaurant both nights. Wednesday night had the addition of a vocalist while we dined. Fresh fruit,yogurt pastries and coffee in the am is complimentary and we enjoyed it from the rooftop deck in the morning sunshine.
We spent the first day shopping the outlets and the second day on the beach and boardwalk of Rehoboth beach, a short drive away. Both days we returned to The Brick from the hustle of Rehoboth to a serene and tranquil evening for drinks laughs and dinner.
We are already looking forward to next years trip.
Thanks again Lynn and staff for a memorable few days at The Brick.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DMWRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Lynn and her team offer genuine hospitality. The Inn is very charming, comfortable and clean.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. No question was too small or inconvenient - Lynn even made arrangements for us to have a personal tour of one of the local historical buildings we would not otherwise had a chance to visit.

Even now, months later, I still think what a fantastic time we had thanks to Lynn and her team.

Thanks Lynn!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndon00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

The Brick Hotel is an excellent place to stay, rooms are comfortable and clean and cozy. Staff is very helpful and pleasant. If you want excellent food the
restaurant is great. Our stay there is one we always look forward to.

Room Tip: Always stay in the Chambers , love this room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elliott94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is our 2nd time staying at the Brick, both for my son's baseball tournaments. Location is great, so close to the sports facility, room is very clean and cozy, love the warm rail in the bathroom which is very convenient whenever I had to wash uniform, restaurant has delicious food(scallop, oyster...), and Lynn even let my son play on her piano, really enjoy the stay.

Our room was the Baker, on 2nd floor next to the breakfast area. The only con of this room is, it's right behind the porch where guests hang out and chat even after 10pm, we were not bothered much after a long game day though, but next time I'd probably stay on 3rd floor or rooms on the back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ywu0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBrick, Owner at Brick Hotel On The Circle, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Always a pleasure to see our return guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgetown
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Georgetown Delaware Beaches
13.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 4 in Georgetown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#1 of 7 in Lewes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Seaford
Hampton Inn Seaford
#1 of 6 in Seaford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brick Hotel On The Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brick Hotel On The Circle

Property: Brick Hotel On The Circle
Address: 18 The Cir, Georgetown, DE 19947-1501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brick Hotel On The Circle 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brick Hotel On The Circle is a circa 1836 National Historic property that underwent a total restoration in 2008. It was restored to its original use as an Inn with 14 guest rooms with private baths, and each is uniquely furnished with antique beds. Located in the small, historic town of Georgetown, Delaware, we are within 15 miles of resort areas and shopping outlets in Lewes & Rehoboth Beach. Each of our rooms is uniquely different, with rates ranging from $99 - $169/night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Brick Hotel On The Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing