We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great waterpark.”

Killens Pond Water Park
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Felton
Attraction details
1 review
“Great waterpark.”
Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

My family and I always have fun here. This park is cool, clean bathrooms, clean pool area and great staffing.

Helpful?
Thank sheby20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    9
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“It's a good time if you can get in.”
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Killens Pond water park is adjacent to the state park and campground. This is a must do if your in town, if you can get in. The park was overrun with people but it's kind of expected of such an awesome place. They offer two great water slides perfect for adults children's games in the water, a mushroom fountain that makes you feel like your in a waterfall, water sprayers galore. It's a great enjoyable time.

Helpful?
5 Thank only1kirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, MD
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tried to give it another chance....really disappointed again.....”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We are from Maryland and have tried to visit Killen's Pond Water Park once a year over the past 8 years. After this visit, I think we're done. We went on a Monday trying to avoid the crowds and that seemed to be a good strategy. However, the baby pool (a great place for just hanging out and watching the little ones enjoy their first slides) was closed ALL DAY and none of the lifeguards offered an explanation other than the "chemicals" and that it had been closed since the afternoon on the day before. Then, only one of the large water slides was open although both were shooting water down them. We asked why and were told "maintenance". (If maintenance was the issue, then why was it still operating?) There was no canvas on the frame that usually shades the area where the lifeguard stands at the platform and directs you into the slides. It looked like the lifeguard was using the "unavailable" slide to keep her feet in the water and stay cool (couldn't blame her but how about fixing the problem and having the area shaded as it was designed??). Then, at about 3 pm, someone pooped in the main pool so it was announced that the pool was to be closed for an hour. By that time, we had had enough and left. My impression overall is that the place is not well managed and that slides, pools, etc. are deliberately closed to control use & traffic (perhaps in light of lack of staff?). Yes....$3 admission seems like a good deal (in addition to the entry fee of $6 per car to get into the park) but I'd rather pay more to get full use of the facilities and have the place maintained. As another reviewer lamented, the pool water is sometimes cloudy and the restrooms and change rooms are strewn with toilet paper, diapers, etc which doesn't seem to be cleaned up throughout the day. On our last several visits, we have encountered similar issues (pool area closed temporarily, etc.) but having 2 areas/slides closed ALL DAY was unacceptable and indicative of lack of management and maintenance. The baby pool must be closed frequently because they have a preprinted sign they post at the admissions house. There was no such sign on display warning that only one of the big slides was available. Even at only $3 per person, I'd have to say there's not great value here.....as the saying goes...."you get what you pay for"......For people who live close, it's probably not too much of an inconvenience, but if you're coming from far away for just a day trip, I'd seriously reconsider.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank bighairproductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excelent!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

It really is a great place to spend a summer afternoon for the kids, and for $3 for all day, you couldnt ask for more!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank XRadioX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kids will love it.”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

only 3 dollars per person to enter pool area, crowded but very well organized and staffed well.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CsMagnum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Killens Pond Water Park also viewed

 

Been to Killens Pond Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing