We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good price - decent place”

Killens Pond Water Park
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Felton
Attraction details
New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good price - decent place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

If you are camping, you don't need to pay for parking, but you still have to pay for the entrance fee which is really cheap: $3 or $4.

The changing area/locker room/restroom could be much nicer. It was a mess when I went inside. There are plenty of locker space outside in the pool area though.

The general appearance of the water park is very nice. The water could have been cleaner though. It was a little on the green side.

The lifeguards are very strict with clothing and jewelry, so beware. You can only wear swimwear in the pool, no t-shirts, etc.

The slides were the best part. There is an open-air one, which was really slow, but probably great for small children. The other one is enclosed and fast. If you are claustrophobic, you probably won't like this slide.

There are plenty of lounge chairs and a concession area.

Considering the crazy amount of money other places charge, this is a steal. I wouldn't mind coming back here.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank talaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    9
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
south gibson, pa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice facility, but very crowded.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We camped at Killen's Pond in July and went to the water park on several days. It is a very nice attraction, especially considering the price - $3 per person! There is a zero entry kiddie section with bubblers and mushroom waterfalls that becomes a deep pool on the other end. There are also two large water slides - one open and one closed - and floating lily pads to walk across while holding a rope line overhead.

That said, the water park was filled to capacity by late afternoon and became quite dirty. The crowds seem to overwhelm the ability of the employees to keep the place clean. So, go early and mid-week, especially if you're squeamish about lots of people or less than pristine water and bathrooms.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Delaware
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Nasty, dirty, awful place. We stayed 25 minutes and left.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

The saying goes: you get what you pay for. And in the case of this place, it is true. $3 a car and then $3 a head to get into the water park. I walked through the men's locker room and saw toilet paper and dirty diapers left in the changing area. Upon entering the actual water area, security was in the process of (trying) to throw out a twenty-something, tattooed covered, punk. We soon found out that this place was full of hoodlums and unsavory people.

There are three areas in which to swim. The large slide area, the main pool and then two small kiddie pools. We started in the kiddie pool area as we have a 1 year old. The park has a rule about non-potty trained kids needing to wear rubber shorts. I counted 8 kids in the kiddie pool wearing nothing but a diaper. These 8 kids appeared to have been in a group who were constantly being yelled out (loudly and across the entire pool) by a woman wearing a clear shower cap. Classy. The kiddie pool was pretty warm and had a slimy bottom.

We left for the bigger main pool which goes to about 4 foot deep. That pool also had a slimy bottom. My wife and I started discussing leaving because it was so dirty and then - an announcement is made to clear the main pool for sanitary reasons. We got out and decided to leave.

While walking out, I noticed that the punk was still arguing with security and demanding he be given his $3 back. I also noticed that two lifeguards, one on each side of the main pool, were removing feces from the water. I'm guessing the non-enforcement of proper swim clothing for non-potty trained kids should have been done.

I will never, ever, return to this water park. I'm glad it only cost us a total of $12 to learn our lesson. Stay clear of this place!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
15 Thank Vaison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“family with 15 and 7 year old and a 19month old”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

The water park itself is nice. It was clean. However, the day we went there was a huge line. Several buses of camp kids who would have a camp counselor so obviously supervision wasn't like it would be for a family. Kids were running all over the place and the pools were mobbed. They closed the baby pool for cleaning in the middle of the time we were there for at least an hour. So then, the other pools were over crowded. Our seven year old was told by one lifeguard he could do the water slides. Another one said later he could not. Inconsistent. We camped there. The campground is very nice. But, if you don't want to go to the pool which is super crowded, the beach is about 40 miles away. There is a place to go canoeing or paddle boating which we did the next day. It would be nice if they had specific hours for families and/or campers and specific hours for buses or groups that are from day camps. There is no notice about that ahead of time unless you know someone who has been.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank tina151620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

This is an awesome waterpark! They are super inexpensive for large families. It was 1.50 for kids and I think 3.00 for adults and 5 for parking for all of us we spent less than 20.00 and the park was very well kept.

They don't allow you to wear any jewelry so make sure to lock it up before you go or rent a locker there.

The kids LOVED this place and we will be going back frequently! They have stuff for adults - little kids and everyone had a wonderful time.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Tammy7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Killens Pond Water Park also viewed

 

Been to Killens Pond Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing