We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID this hotel at all cost!”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Webster, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AVOID this hotel at all cost!”
Reviewed August 18, 2010

I am 71 years old and I can honestly say this is the worst stay I have ever had in my entire life! First of all the room was small and dingy. The king size bed was pushed against the wall so my wife had to climb over me to get out of bed. The picture that was once hanging over the head board was leaning against the wall on the floor. The sink wasfilthy and filled with cracks. The TV did NOT work. But worst of all, we were awaken out of a sound sleep at 1:30 AM by loud shouting and yelling in the pool area which was near our window. I called the desk and they said they would take care of it. This took over 20 minutes while the shouting continued. We were so rattled at this point that we could hardly fall asleep again. In sumation, I wouldn't stay there again if it were free.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camaroking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraInn, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
Thank you so much for your comments. I would like to apologize on behalf of myself and the team at the Dover Comfort Suites that your stay was unsatisfactory. Your comments are very valuable feedback as we will look at each and every item you mentioned and will work diligently to correct them. We sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity if and when your travels bring you back to the Dover area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    15
    25
    21
See reviews for
28
25
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

This was a run of the mill kind of place. For a suite room, it was quite small with 2 double beds, but it served our purpose as a place to stay as we were passing through.

Checkin: Quick, efficient, and helpful

Room: Ok, clean. Sink needed to be replaced, but it was usable. The fridge and freezer were clean and a good size.

Pool: Very small, overly chlorinated, but a nice to get cooled of in the hot temperatures. The kids liked it.

Breakfast: OK. The fruit selection wasn't great, the coffee was good, the waffles were the hit for the kids.

Checkout: used the express as nobody was at the counter when we wanted to check out.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank famluvtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, NY
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2009

I made a mistake and thought I was making a reservation at the Country Inn and Suites (Or whatever the other hotel is called).
The staff at Comfort Inn is very nice, but the rooms are old and scary. If you are down in Dover with a bunch of guys for race week, I suppose it would not matter.
Otherwise, pass this old place by.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natsmom229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dover hotels

Philadelphia, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2008

I was scared of the reviews i saw here on tripadvisor - but didn't worry since opinions vary so much. I would say the hotel was fine for the price (which wasn't too much).

The room was fairly clean - although the bathroom floor just gets dirty quickly b/c of the slickness of it. But it wasn't dirty when we came in. The furniture is a bit older - but fine. The bed was comfortable and room spacious. Great fridge to keep my water cold. And I'd say the best thing about the room was the whirlpool tub - it wasn't big enough for my boyfriend really who is 6"1. However, it worked for me and was very relaxing w/ good jets.

We enjoyed the continental breakfast! Coffee and english muffin were good. The service was good and fine.

Overall, hotel was just fine and I'd stay here again - I just wasn't crazy about Dover/the area. I noticed the hotel probably gets frequent traffic b/c of the air force base nearby.

Highlight of our stay was actually a restaurant down the road called Shucker's Pier - we LOVED it really good seafood and amazing prices!!!! So I recommend it. Hope this review helps :)

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank writersearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2008

For what I paid (87.00), the room was "okay". However, I would have been disappointed if I paid over $100. The lady at the check-in counter was very pleasant and helpful and upgraded me to a whirlpool tub room. I have no complaints about the staff or service.

My non-smoking room smelled like stale smoke. But, overall the room seemed reasonably clean (not spotless, but not dirty). I had a king-sized bed, small table and chairs, the bed was comfortable and the linens clean. There was a coffee pot, refrigerator and microwave in the room. Overall, my one night stay was quiet and the hotel was in a safe area. The hotel is in a good location if visiting Dover. It just needs a good spring cleaning and some sprucing up.

The hotel has a morning continental breakfast, but I had to leave early and it wasn’t available. As there was only one person working in the hotel, there was no one at the front desk for me to check out because he was putting together the breakfast items.

I've stayed at other locations in Dover that I thought were much nicer, such as the Sheraton and the Marriott Residence Inn. They are both just slightly south of the Comfort Inn Suites. I would recommend either of them if they are in or even slightly above the Comfort Inn Suites price range. The extra money would be worth it.

  • Liked — Service at check in
  • Disliked — Stale Smoke Smell in Non-Smoking Room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank windfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2007

This place is a dump, do not stay for any reason. The owners of the franchise are so cheap they only employ 1 person to man the place per shift, so they are milking the place like it is a cash cow and obviously could care less about staffing the place and keeping it clean. The bathroom was so filthy and there was hair in the tub and crud all over the place. Fortunately, i had my lysol and i sprayed the place down, including the remote. Whom ever owns this place should be ashamed of themselves. I hope that karma rewards them with a filthy hotel when they go out of town. Do not waste your money staying here. There is a Sheraton and Hampton Inn up the street. I understand the Sheraton is nice. We tried to get out of our reservations when we arrived but you have to cancel 24 hrs before you arrive. Once again, do not destroy your visit to dover by staying in this filthy god forsaken hotel, it is not worth it.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bize1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2007

My family stayed for one night in June 2007 for the NASCAR race. The hotel is rundown and in need of updating. The first room we checked into smelled terrible…like urine. The second room smelled and looked cleaner. The hotel is supposed to be 100% smoke free but it is hard to monitor that in the rooms. The complimentary, deluxe continental breakfast was far from deluxe. The pool area was small but clean. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. It is time for Choice Hotels International to totally redo this Comfort Suites.

  • Liked — Distance from Dover Internations Speedway
  • Disliked — Lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jolv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 20 in Dover
147 reviews
2.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dover
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover
3.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 1654 N Dupont Hwy, Dover, DE 19901-2217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® hotel is ideally located less than one mile from the Dover Mall. This Dover, DE hotel is close to Delaware State University, Wesley College, Delaware Technical and Community College and the Dover Air Force Base.Dover boasts a variety of activities for every visitor. Explore the city's hometown charm, revel in the NASCAR action at Dover International Speedway or enjoy horse racing, slots and entertainment at Dover Downs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Dover
Dover Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing