We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Week-end stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Week-end stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great location with plenty to do in the area. Loretta who worked the front desk when we chwcked in was OUTSTANDING! She noticed that I paid an old rate when I made my reservations on line, and adjusted our rate to the newer one which was a few dollars lower. The only complaints we had we the room was upon entering there was a strong bleach smell. We went to Wal-Mart that night and bought a can of Febreze to lower the smell. Also this was a handicap room, however the bathroom should have had a few more hand help rails.

Room Tip: Get to breakfast early. Small area and food runs out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HARRY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    14
    14
    24
    19
See reviews for
27
24
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was recently there for an overnight with my 3 children. The hotel had two comfortable beds, toiletries in the room and on demand. The pool was very small but at least there was one. There was plenty of parking. The staff was very nice and friendly. There was a continental breakfast in the morning in which my children enjoyed. This hotel is close to the Dover Mall, a college, and about a mile from the casino. There is a restaurant in front of the hotel ( but not connected). I also loved the proximity it was to my cousin's house, which is why I was in Dover. I will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Qwezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Thru out several years my husband & I have been staying at this location whenever we are in the area. There are many other hotels/motels in the area, but this is our choice spot. The rate/rooms are very reasonable and the staff is good...but the drawing card for us is .....LORETTA!!!! She was one of the first staff members we met when we first stayed at this location (1654 Dupont Hwy ). We were so impressed with her!! She is kind,funny and most professional...works very well under pressure. Always quick-witted...calls my husband ..THE DUKE..(his name is Earl).We have met a lot of staff at a lot of various hotels....but "our Loretta" out ranks them all..we truly love her! Comfort Suites truly has a "precious jewel" on their staff....please appreciate her....my husband & I do (smile).....SEE YOU SOON LORETTA !!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAROLEARL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesdover, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thanks Carol and Earl for your positive remarks, im glad to hear that you enjoy yourself with us. We look forward to keep serving your hospitality needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I had the pleasure of staying for an overnight at the Dover Comfort Suites at 1654 N. Dupont Hwy., not only were we treated like we were special guests, but everything in the hotel was excellent starting with the service we received from the General Manager down to the maid service in the morning! The room was clean, we even received a welcome bag. The manager went out of his way to make sure our stay was a pleasant one, and all the staff were very friendly. The pool was clean and refreshing, and we thouroughly enjoyed the breakfast offered in the morning, all was fresh and very inviting. We will definitely stay there again, and will most definitely recommend this to all of our friends. It is most convenient to anyone traveling up that corridor, especially anyone going to the Dover Casino,, we loved it! Christopher McFarland , the General Manager was outstanding!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cook2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed at the Comfort Suites to move my Daughter in her new College life, not only did they give excellent service they lived up to there name and provided comfort in my sadness, leaving my baby away from... this was hard but knowing there are such great folks in Dover made me feel better about our choice. The hotel GM Chris rocks the best ever!!!!! No matter where you go you can always find something wrong but this was a first cause I couldnt find anything wrong....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GramNeafoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesdover, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thanks for choosing the comfort suites to stay during your visit. Im glad that we made your trip a little easier for you. Whenever you come to dover to visit your daughter remember we're just a phone call away, and let us know anyway we can help assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
172 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Very large rooms, huge sitting area and separate bedroom which was very large. Open jacuzzi in the bedroom with sliders to the bathroom, small shower and separate "powder area". The room was old, rugs starting to come up on the edges. The shower had old soap and had not been clean, nor had the bathroom sink. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lgatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dover hotels

Levittown, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed at the Comfort Suites for a football camp at Dover High School. The beds were comfortable. The free breakfast was great. The outdoor pool and fitness center were fantastic. Free parking. Great location. There is a Bob Evans connected to it for delicious food. Very clean. Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 20 in Dover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Dover
Hampton Inn Dover
#11 of 20 in Dover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mainstay Suites Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 1654 N. Dupont Hwy., Dover, DE 19901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® hotel is ideally located less than one mile from the Dover Mall. This Dover, DE hotel is close to Delaware State University, Wesley College, Delaware Technical and Community College and the Dover Air Force Base.Dover boasts a variety of activities for every visitor. Explore the city's hometown charm, revel in the NASCAR action at Dover International Speedway or enjoy horse racing, slots and entertainment at Dover Downs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Dover
Dover Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing