We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Dover

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

New Comfort Inn & Suites in Dover is a nice addition to lodging in a military, college, NASCAR Racing and casino town. We have been visiting Dover since 1998 and have found lodging to be a chore when there is a major event in town. On a whim, we decided to go there at the onset of Labor Day weekend without reservations and found this place with availability on our second stop. The hotel is a recent addition to Dover and is located ideally on Route 13 between two colleges and not far from the Casino and Race Track. Rooms were nice, staff friendly and comp breakfast served daily. Rate was reasonable!!! I would definitely go back there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor, front. It provides an interesting view of Dover, DSU and Route 13.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank audigala6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick764, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Dover, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
We thank you for your recommendation and your comments regarding our staff and property. We thank you for staying with us the Comfort Inn & Suites Dover and hope to see you during your future trips to Dover, Delaware.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    54
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
64
78
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Being scared as hell to have bed bugs in a hotel room, I try to do a decent inspection of every hotel room I go in. Even though my first room didn't show signs of bed bug infestation, I did find two dead bed bugs on the carpet under the bed. When I told the reception, they told me that even though it's rare, they do have the occasional problem. They gave us a new room where I couldn't find any evidence but our sleep was still difficult.

Otherwise, the staff was pleasant and the rooms clean, but because of the bugs, I could hardly recommend that hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Rellick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick764, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Dover, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We thank you for being honest that there was no infestation in the room. We did get the room inspected by the Exterminator and he did not find any evidence of any bed bugs in that room. Upon inspection of the mattress, box spring, behind the head board, behind the picture frame, on the brown carpet, the baseboard, and under the chair, and around the room, he did not find any stains on the mattress or box spring, or any feces stains, or any shed skin. He did find two dead insects as indicated, which were not bed bugs, but normal night insects. You do need a keen eye to find bed bugs and know where to look for them. It is very hard to find bed bugs, unless either you have an infestation, or you find stains, feces, skin, or a live bed bug. Fueled by fear and paranoia that’s exacerbated by the glut of alarmist media reports, many people incorrectly conclude they have a detected a bed bug when, in fact, they do not. Our policy is if there is any evidence of bed bugs in any of our guestrooms, we immediately place that guestroom Out of Order and call upon an exterminator to provide a full bed bug treatment program. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the dead insects found.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Needed extra sheets and pillows and staff furnished them very quickly. Pool was great. Room was clean and quiet. Cookies in the lobby and complimentary breakfast was a nice touch! Very convienent to all stores. Many restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen6352289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick764, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Dover, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
We thank you for your comments regarding our clean and quiet rooms, our staff, and our breakfast. We are glad you enjoyed the cookies and thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stopped here driving back home to NY. Rooms were a bit crowded, but clean and comfortable beds. Free breakfast was great. The main problem was the pool area was tiled with a very slippery surface material. All parents at pool commented how dangerous it was and a few kids slipped and fell in the short visit we had there. Otherwise it was fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick764, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Dover, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback regarding the pool area tile being slippery when wet. The tile is commercial high slip resistant tile, but we did get the pool tile cleaned by a professional company and have addressed the issue with the tile company so that we can rectify the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel on our vacation and usually spent $100 or less on hotels but it was late and we were tired of driving we decided to spend the $30 extra and stay here. The room was one of the best we have experienced on our trip. The breakfast was a great break from the basic continentals of only cereals and waffles. The breakfast room and lobby were very nice and clean as was the room. Based on those aspects, I would have given this hotel a 5; however, our A/C wasn't working right and we didn't discover this until during the night so we didn't sleep well. I told the front desk the morning when I checked out and she said she'd have maintenance check it out but didn't offer me any kind of refund or discount, which was very disappointing since I paid $130/nt. I walked to the pool and couldn't get into look at it at 8:30pm because the door was locked and the room was dark. Lastly, I tried to use a discount card that I had used my entire trip at Choice Hotels and the hotel had it blocked because of a city event. This was really disappointing. I think the hotel could have been a little more accomodating since it was higher priced and for those reasons only, I gave it a 3 out of 5.

Room Tip: If traveling close to July 2012, and the pool usage is important to you, you may want to check on it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CountryMomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick764, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Dover, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We thank you for choosing us as one of the best rooms you experienced during your trip. We appreciate your comments regarding our breakfast and our clean lobby. Our pool area, fitness center, and business center are accessible with guest room keys only. The pool was open at 8:30 pm; the door would have opened with your guest key, the front desk clerk would have been glad to let you into the pool area. We are sorry we could not accept your discount card due to the city event in town. We apologize for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

I had a great stay at Comfort Inn & Suites because of how close to the track this hotel is and how beautiful the hotel was setup. The staff was very helpful and friendly and my room was so comfortable I felt like I was at home. Would stay here again in the future not to mention I would surely recommend this hotel to all my friends...

Room Tip: EXCELLENT place to stay, especially if you are there for the Nascar race.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick764, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Dover, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
We thank you for your comments regarding our location and our friendly staff. We thank you for your recommendation and hope to see you on your future travels to Dover, Delaware.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading,PA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

This was a spur of the moment reservation and it ended up being well worth the money.The room was very adequate with comfy bed,nice shower water pressure and hot water.Television was wide screen with a varied channel selection.
The lack of electrical outlets is made up by a major recepticle bedside and the wireless internet connection was hit or miss,even with a 1st floor room.
Breakfast area was very clean and the attendant always made sure that nothing ran out,whether it be the milk,bread or jelly.
It's location is great for any Dover Downs Casino or NASCAR visitor.
2 minor drawbacks were the housekeeping did not do our room and we had to go to the desk for a few items.The other was the room was to be ready at 3 PM and when we returned at 5 PM,it was still not done.
AC and heat were very prominent and there is plenty of room and an added sofa-bed for extra people in the party.
Worth the room price and very easy to come and go during anytime of day.

Room Tip: The suites are worth the extra dollars for convienience and few extras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingmrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Dover, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
We thank you for your comments and recommendations about our Property. We apologize for not having the room ready by 3 pm, due to our previous guest checking out late from the 1st floor suite. Our housekeepers are supposed to revisit the room after they are done cleaning the other rooms, if the guest has a Do Not Disturb sign during the first round. We apologize for the inconvenience. We are glad you had a wonderful stay and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dover
0.5 mi away
Dover Downs Hotel & Casino
1.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mainstay Suites Dover
4.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dover
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Dover

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
Address: 764 Dover Leipsic Road, Dover, DE 19901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dover
#3 Family Hotel in Dover
#6 Business Hotel in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Dover 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Dover Hotel Dover
Country Inn And Suites Dover
Country Inn Dover
Dover Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing