We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect choice for a cheap stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Dover

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Dover
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Dover
A TripAdvisor Member
“Perfect choice for a cheap stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I wasn't expecting anything nice for the price that I paid ($65 a night). The room was average, and it was clean. We even had a microwave and a fridge in our room, and it worked. The bathroom was small, but relatively clean. However, our shower head was a little messed up. However, for the money that we paid, I was satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    25
    27
    48
    76
See reviews for
55
47
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I am a reasonable person, with moderate expectations, but this was the single worst hotel experience I have ever had. I booked the hotel for 3 nights during the 2012 Firefly festival. Where to start. Well, there was the ordeal of changing the primary name on the reservation. After talking to three people the manager was able to do it; however, when I arrived they tried to explain to me that the original name was not mine and even with a note on the reservation that we called and changed it, there was nothing they could do. Eventually relenting and letting me check in they then tried to refuse my credit card insisting on only being able the use the one the room was reserved on.

Well eventually I got into my room. Upon first inspection the room looked good, new TV, nice looking batheroom. Over the course of the weekend I realized that the toilet barely worked, only the light in the bathroom worked, the TV came in fuzzy, and the phone in the room did not work at all. The sheets and towels were stained and I have a strong suspicion that there were bed bugs. On top of this my room keys deactivated every night, even through I had been reassured that they would not. Subsequently,there is no way to enter the hotel lobby from the back of the hotel because of renovations meaning to get to the lobby you must get back into your car or walk down a dark alley to get your key reactivated.

On top of this, my room was never cleaned once during my stay! If I had any other choice (all the hotels were booked for the weekend because of the festival) I would have left after the first night. I seriously contemplated staying in my car.

I do not recommend this hotel at all, stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dover hotels

Norther Central PA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on Saturday, July 27, 2012. Price was fair, room was very clean, grounds were nice, continental breakfast was good and food was plentiful. If it wouldn't have been for the people above us who sounded like they were running a marathon at 3 in the morning (not managements fault), it would have been a perfect night. We heard no other noise. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladymedonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I was really expecting a terrible weekend because of how cheap it was (about $60 per night) and based on previous reviews, but I was definitely pleasantly surprised. The front desk staff members were really helpful and didn't seem to hate their jobs, the rooms was basic but clean enough, and there were no bed bugs. You can hear a lot through the walls and there were some quirks with the AC and the shower, but nothing was that bad. For the money this place was definitely a good deal. If you are looking for a really nice, modern hotel, though, somewhere else may be a better option for you. I was in town for the Firefly music festival and wasn't in the room much. It was just nice to have a decent place to sleep at night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here for the Firefly festival Jul 20-22. If you want Ritz Carlton service, go pay Ritz Carlton prices. For what we needed it was perfect. We were only in the room to sleep. it was clean and everything worked. The staff is VERY friendly and helpful. The owner of the hotel was nice enough to drive us to the festival twice. Those who want to complain need to keep in mind the discounted price you are paying. Great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Shade, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Our one night at this roach motel was awful.
While the manager on duty was very pleasant, our room was less than satisfactory.
There was no remote for the TV. The water in the bathroom ran lukewarm in the shower and sink.
Two of our towels were a gross grey color.
We asked for a non-smoking room but clearly someone had been smoking in our room quite recently.
Worst of all, the people on either side of us decided to stand outside and talk very loudly until midnight. They screamed, yelled, slammed doors, and stomped back and forth for two hours
.
When we went to check out, there was no one available for over 15 minutes. We finally had to demagnetize our keys and toss them over the counter or we were going to be late for our race.

This roach motel is not worth the money.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeresaF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Tx
Level Contributor
72 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Room was fairly plain, but very clean. Beds OK and Pillows OK, but no real blankets on bed just a thin bedspread. Thank goodness that the heater worked well. Clerk not helpful, but no problems checking in or out Breakfast was good

Room Tip: We stayed here in order to visit Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge which is 20 miles out. Had tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RLPSanAntonio_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
0.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover
3.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mainstay Suites Dover
Mainstay Suites Dover
#10 of 20 in Dover
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Dover
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Galaxy Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Dover

Property: Super 8 Dover
Address: 348 N Dupont Hwy, Dover, DE 19901-3935 (Formerly Lakeside Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Dover 2*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Super 8 Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dover Super Eight
Dover Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing