We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fashioned Goodness with a modern twist”
Review of Frankfurt Bakery & Deli - CLOSED

Frankfurt Bakery & Deli
Price range: $5 - $10
Description: Winner of the People's Choice Award and 2nd Place Overall at the annual Cheestoberfest! (Grilled cheese competition). We don't even own a grill! Come meet our award winning Chef Horvath! The building sits back off of S Governors but we are there! Please come see us soon!
Restaurant details
Description: Winner of the People's Choice Award and 2nd Place Overall at the annual Cheestoberfest! (Grilled cheese competition). We don't even own a grill! Come meet our award winning Chef Horvath! The building sits back off of S Governors but we are there! Please come see us soon!
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Goodness with a modern twist”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a MUST stop whether you want a breakfast treat, a sandwich for lunch, dessert for dinner, or rolls and pies for a large family event. Everything is tasty and of good quality. The variety is incredible and they take special orders too! It's so nice to have a great local bakery.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank garrison23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    17
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
95 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great assortment of fresh breads”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Great assortment of fresh breads all made on premises. Try their Breakfast Bread - unbelievable! Get there early, the shelves clear out fast. Will take special orders for Challah and other holiday bake goods. Very lucky to have Frankfort Bakery in Dover.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
229 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 490 helpful votes
“Worth the hype!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

On a recent weekend birthday trip to Dover, we decided to check out Frankfurt Bakery to see whether all the hype was deserved. We had hoped to grab breakfast and a seat but quickly realized there was no seating. It was all takeout. We grabbed some rolls and a loaf of bread to take home and 2 birthday cupcakes, a cinnamon roll and 2 fruit purses (cherry and apple). All were delicious! Staff were very helpful and accommodating. The hype appears well-deserved.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trinigirlmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiana, Delaware
Level Contributor
109 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“be early”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Yes, the products of this bakery are great BUT remember the early bird gets the worm. OR in this case, if you arrive late, the selection is much less. Love their rolls.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bob z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious baked goodies and sandwiches!”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

No one beats Dawne's Frankfurt Bakery! No one. The staff is friendly and professional, caring and engaging. The pastries, cakes, bread and cookies are unrivaled.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HBHeddyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing