We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a happy experience”

Dover International Speedway
Ranked #3 of 35 things to do in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The venue for popular races like the NASCAR Winston Cup, Busch and Craftsman Truck series, it is considered, by many, to be one of the best tracks in the U.S..
Gladwyne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
342 reviews
190 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
“Not a happy experience”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

It's been a while since my experience, but there was no place to write the review until recently. I took the driving experience basically because they were the only driving experience operator that had video in the car at the time. The track is very small, only a half mile so you can't really build much speed. There was something wrong with the transmission in my car that made it difficult to shift gears. I've been driving a standard trans car for the last 30 yrs so it's not like I didn't know how to drive a stick. The steering wheel they put in the car was too small and was loose too. Because of these problems, I wasn't going as fast as I could have, though that wouldn't have been that fast anyway because of the track, so they waved me over to put me in the back of the three car pack because of this. It was over before it started with no thrill at all. These experiences can be awesome but not at this little track. Customer service was severely lacking when I contacted them. Go to the bigger tracks with bigger names(Petty for one) and you'll have a great time.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Trip117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    50
    13
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Christmas, Florida
Level Contributor
177 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great track to visit”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Great people, great track. Interesting set up! Had a blast and plenty of stores near by. Casino on the track site--which has a few restaurants, gambling and great bars!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank candid1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excelent Treatment of Handicapped Visitors”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My father-in-law has a handicapped parking pass as well as the group we tailgate with. The parking is right next to gate 4 and there is plenty of it. Parking is $5 at the track and where we were was literally within a stones throw from the actual track. Handicapped people get upto three "shuttles" on golf carts throughout the day to anywhere they want. The track even offers easily accessed elevators for handicapped and their guests. If you have trouble walking up steps, take this as otherwise, it is 139 steps to the upper level (a guy in our party did count).
The track has plenty of stuff going on for the entire family on race day and allows up to 14"x14"x14" coolers with everything except wine and liquor/glass. You can enter and exit, then re-enter the track throughout the race.

Make sure you get there early (9am or earlier is best) so you have time to set up, then relax before getting to your seat. Traffic is always bad around these types of events, but is not the worst I have been in.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ds0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, pa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dover International Speedway Weekend”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This place is MUCH more than a racetrack! When Nascar comes to town, there is so much to do in the fanzone and outside the track gates---and best of all, its FREE! Entertainment, freebies, meet and greets, displays, etc., etc., etc. And that's all before the action on the track starts! If you have yet to go to a race, I recommend "trying it out" first at a Saturday, Nationwide (less crowded) race. To follow the race better, I recommend renting a TracScan radio for the race to help follow what is going on much better. Turn 4, no lower than row 20 is my preferred seating area to watch the cars come around the turn and "wiggle" as they come back onto the straightaway front stretch! Tailgating is so much fun so if you can, and want to make it an even more fun time, spend a weekend camping with friends or just hang with other Nascar fans! They are the best!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank roni0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“good for NASCAR fans”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

If you like NASCAR, this place is awesome. If you aren't, you may not be so entertained.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank samgreat89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dover International Speedway also viewed

 

Been to Dover International Speedway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing