We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plantation Tour”

John Dickinson Plantation
Ranked #5 of 35 things to do in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once owned by a wealthy Quaker tobacco planter, this plantation has been converted to a living museum where visitors can tour the grounds and interact with staff dressed in period costume.
Amelia, VA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Plantation Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

You first watch a short film that gives information on John Dickinson. I was not familiar with him so this was interesting to learn. We then had a costume period tour guide in the home. He was very pleasant and knowledgable. There was no charge to visit the plantation but donations are accepted.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank BeachGirlVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    21
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Local history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Enjoyed the short film about John Dickinson, as I did not know much about him. It gave me the incentive to find out more about him, as I am new to Delaware.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
234 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Another great tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I've really been impressed with the Delaware tour guides. This is a wonderful tour which showcases the history of John Dickinson, one of our countries founding fathers from Delaware. There is a video and an exceptional tour of the master house on the plantation. They also presented the historical accounts of the black people, both slaves and free persons, and the lives they led at that time. It was very informative and thorough

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank imtom55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goose creek
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“" Live" History At The John Dickinson Plantation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Dickinson Plantation, a National Historic Landmark was the boyhood home of John Dickinson of Dover, Delaware, one of the main framers of the United States Constitution as well as other important documents when Dickinson served as a member of the Continental Congress. He was also one of only a few people to serve as a " Chief Executive' (Governor) of both Delaware and Pennsylvania.
The Colonial era home built in 1245 as well as reconstructed outbuildings showcase the daily life of a plantation including the lives and activities of the enslaved and free African Americans as well as indentured servants and tenant farmers in 18th century Delaware. Programs for all ages including hands on activities for visitors are presented by period dressed interpreters. The new visitors center is a welcoming start to the visit. The visitors center and first floor of the mansion are handicapped accessible and it’s free admission to the site but donations are welcome if you so wish. This is an important site for those following the history of the underground railway routes and persons involved.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Alaska
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Took my family who is visiting from Michigan. Had a fun time learning a little delaware history. Lovely land beautiful home. If in delaware I highly suggest going.

Helpful?
1 Thank Janicejox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to John Dickinson Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing