We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delaware State House - excellent guide”
Review of Old State House

Old State House
Ranked #7 of 35 things to do in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
234 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Delaware State House - excellent guide”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The guide at the old Delaware State House was excellent. My wife and I had him all to ourselves and were delighted to hear his story. This is a must see for anyone interested in Delaware history.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank imtom55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    23
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good place to learn about Delaware history”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have been here twice, once on my own, and once with my grandma. The first tour guide's name was Gabby, and he did an excellent job showing me around. Way to go Gabby!
I cannot remember the name of the second tour guide (older man who was balding and had white hair), but he too was good.
This is a good place to learn about Delaware history.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank samgreat89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Old State House on the Green”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Standing tall since the early days of Delaware, the State House has seen more than a few architectural transformations over the centuries. It is situated at the head of the Green in central Dover and stands watch over a wonderful example of early 18th century city design. Many of the original dwellings and public buildings remain in situ on the Green. Check the Dover calendar for many of the special events that are centered around the "heart" of Old Dover. Old Dover Days in May, local concerts and more are offered in this beautiful setting.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank roadtripper3739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2,740 reviews
1,445 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,509 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

It's hard to visit Dover during a sunday morning, everything is closed. We walked around and checked some buildings.
The old state house is beautiful. In fact all the governamental and historical buildings in Dover are gorgeous and well restored. The city is very charming. But doesn't have much to see.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank HelenaGuerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Delaware
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“prescriptive and forced”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is actually two tours. The first 2/3 is about the Old State house (no surprise) the second 1/3 is about slavery (surprise). We really enjoyed the as advertised presentation. It was better than expected and even though we've lived here for 7 years we learned several new things. I particularly liked leaning about the relationship with Pennsylvania.

The slavery part is good but it was over emphasized and felt forced and out of place.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mike_emig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old State House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing