We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flying First Class”

Air Mobility Command Museum
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the Dover Air Force Base, this museum showcases the history of military aviation through exhibits and a sizeable collection of planes that have been used throughout history.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Flying First Class”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We visited the Mobility Air Command Museum next to Dover Air Force Base and I was thoroughly impressed. We wandered among many aircraft parked on the airfield outside of the museum. Each one had a description on a sign in front of the plane. One plane was open for exploration and was truly fascinating. Once inside the hanger, we were greeted by several more aircraft and volunteer, Bill Marson, who did an excellent job of giving us the back story of each plane that was there. My wife had the opportunity to use the simulator and land a trainer, safely I may add.
We have driven by this museum so many times on our way to the beach, I am so glad we toured it today. It is a hidden treasure here in the Diamond State.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank bhicks1052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    85
    12
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great museum.”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is one of the best aviation museums on the east coast. Next to the National Museum of the Air Force it has one of the best collection of historic aircraft. It is free but please give a donation.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great collection of Military Transport History”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The collection is overseen by a collection of very friendly and knowledgeable volunteers. There is a small indoor collection of aircraft surrounded by cockpits and displays,
The best is outside. There are a substantial number of transport aircraft and tankers including the C-9 in vip and medevac forms, the Lockheed Galaxy, starlifter, hercules and more. There are also a Jet Provost and Antonov 2 on restoration.
There is much to learn here about the cinderella side of the military without which foreign operations would not happen.
As it is all free buy some souvenirs from the well stocked store or leave a donation, it will be put to good use

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kev_137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Informative”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Well worth the visit for some history for everyone. Was free, but accepted donations which they should for all the knowledge and information they offer about their past and what they endured.

Helpful?
2 Thank ohmygoodnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
307 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great museum”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We visited and spent several hours touring this Hugh museum. They seem to have one of every military plane ever made. There were numerous retired airman guides to answer questions. There is a flight simulator. This was all inside. Then we went outside where there are probably 100 more large planes parked. They even have a retired "Air Force 1" plane. Great place to visit with or without children.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Dot J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Air Mobility Command Museum also viewed

 

Been to Air Mobility Command Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing