We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Worth a visit

3 floors of exhibits of art and furnitue; smaller venue. The art work outside the building entices... read more

Reviewed June 17, 2018
IllinoisKate1
,
Chicago, Illinois
Don’t pass this by while visiting Dover

Beautiful museum with 3 floors of interesting exhibits. We enjoyed the School Sampler works and... read more

Reviewed June 8, 2018
paigesmd61
,
Ooltewah, Tennessee
via mobile
Read all 91 reviews
  
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveler rating
42
41
7
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
41
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews special exhibit three floors permanent collection antique furniture worth a visit early american furniture third floor historic district interesting exhibits downtown dover silver ziggy sculptures period wallpaper curator overview
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 91 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2018

3 floors of exhibits of art and furnitue; smaller venue. The art work outside the building entices your interest to see what is inside.

Thank IllinoisKate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful museum with 3 floors of interesting exhibits. We enjoyed the School Sampler works and the Rembrandt works of art. Lots of antique furniture and silver collections. There is a fee. Parking is free.

Thank paigesmd61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2018

A thoughtfully arranged and beautifully presented overview of one man's collection. There are three floors to explore and the permanent collection is presented chronologically. The striking period wallpaper reproductions behind the art and artifacts added considerable drama to the viewing experience. Not a comprehensive collection but a good many impressive pieces that dart across the years.

Thank Fred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2018

A small museum that is thoughtfully curated, the Biggs is worth a visit by anyone who appreciates American regionalist painting, furniture and silver.

Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2018

I expected the tour of the facility was to follow the handout map they gave me at the time of entrance. Nothing was in the places indicated, as they had a special exhibition, and what was there were foreshortened displays. Again, a disappointment.

Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

We visited this museum and there was a small charge, but we enjoyed the art and furniture. They had videos in many rooms that added a lot of context and detail to the works on display. I particularly liked the landscape painting and the stories about historic Delaware residents told through their art and furniture.

Thank shawnh777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2018

I'm a member of the museum, so I might be prejudiced. I love going here. They have some wonderful impressionist paintings up on the third floor and lots of local high quality paintings and other art too. I'm not really into the furniture, but it's a cool collection too if you're into it. The new curator is doing a great job bringing in excellent shows including a recent Ansel Adams show of photography.

2  Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2017

I visited with a group and had a tour guide to take us in to all the rooms and explain the art and artifacts. If was interesting. Their art work changes.

Thank RonB4610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2017

Based upon recommendations from our Bed and Breakfast we decided to visit here. It was a small museum but the work is very interesting and well done. Bear in mind-this is American Art with furniture and other clocks, etc. Don't expect a huge museum with million $ work !

1  Thank Wildycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017

The cost to enter is similar to that of an actual museum. I could see a few dollars or a simple request for donation. There are simply not enough exhibits to warrant the cost.

Thank TimB3174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews