We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep going back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dover Downs Hotel & Casino
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hampton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We keep going back”
Reviewed December 9, 2005

There are lots of things to love about this hotel. The rooms are spacious, well appointed, and super clean. Half of them overlook the race track, and it is great fun to take a break from the casino and watch the races from your room. The casino is SMOKE free!!! (I love that!) There are frequent events, like cooking demonstrations with celebrities, but you need to check the calendar for those. It is next to a shopping center on one side and a mall with a movie theatre on the other, so if you need a break, you don't have far to go. The restaurants are the only draw back. The one on the casino floor is pitiful; the deli doesn't have much to recommend it; the buffet is pretty good and it does overlook the track so you can watch while you eat, but who wants a buffet every night? The upscale restaurant is good, but expensive, and there is no place on site for a decent breakfast. If you don't mind going off site for meals, you can't beat it.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BECKYBECKYBECKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    257
    91
    21
    31
See reviews for
166
389
49
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2005

My husband and I called and booked a reservation. Everything was wonderful!!! I had to pinch myself to make sure I was actually there. We stayed on the 10th floor and the accommodations were way above our expectations. The staff was extremely gracious and they were very helpful. We plan to go back next month and celebrate again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeAnnaH400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 27, 2005

Just a note to see if other people have noticed, but in the beginning everyone was so nice to you. Now the hotel staff is very rude and unaccommodating, including the supervisors. When you call to get a comp room, even if you don't have one, there is no need to be rude to people. I watched the supervisor be very rude and unapologetic when the hotel itself made an error.

I no longer want to be affiliated with a place that you give so much money to and they treat you in this manner. Also, it is my sincere hope that other states get casinos so Dover cannot get the business from the other states as they do now. I bet then we will see much nicer people.

But, the rooms are nice if you can get pass those rude people at the desk. I cannot single one person out because everytime I try to deal with them they are all the same. And I do frequent the place.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 16, 2005

We found this hotel in a "freak" peek at a AAA tourbook while heading toward Philadelphia from Virginia. It has a horseracing/NASCAR track behind it and casino adjoined. We had so much fun here and had one of the largest, most splendid hotel rooms with the most comfortable bed, a plush king that went on forever, with sheets and duvet of very high thread count. Quiet, immaculate. Concierge service was weak when we were there, so we found a great sushi place down the road on our own. We did not eat at the hotel restaurants and there seemed to be "slim pickin's" in this area. We were not there during racing season so perhaps that is a more hectic time, but this place was the perfect resting spot for us. No need to bother with a suite even if offered as a promotion - the rooms are huge! We would return here.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2004

I love the smokefree casino, I wish more casino's would take this on and stop people from gagging on second hand smoke when they are playing in there casino. I have been too Dover Downs, and it is very nice. The only thing I feel is overated is there overpriced hotel rooms, they are two pricey.I love going to a casino, and stay at the casino hotel, but I can't see myself paying that much for a room, and losing my money in the casino also.I go to BILOXI, MS all the time because I get some excellent free room deals, so it is worth going there.

Helpful?
12 Thank peachesnjuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
2.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Dover
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dover
0.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dover Downs Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dover Downs Hotel & Casino

Property: Dover Downs Hotel & Casino
Address: 1131 N Dupont Hwy, US Route 13, Dover, DE 19901-2008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dover
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dover
#5 Business Hotel in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dover Downs Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA ranked Dover Downs Hotel & Casino as a premier Four Diamond property – that means our luxurious accommodations, amenities and activities give you MORE. Dover Downs Hotel & Casino offers many services that will enhance your stay – headline entertainers, state of the art gaming, live harness racing and poker, and a luxurious, South Pacific-inspired full-service spa that will leave you relaxed and looking and feeling your best. Do not forget to visit The Colonnade for our exquisite boutique shops, in addition to our award-winning restaurants, bars and lounges. At Dover Downs Hotel & Casino, we have it all!For Business and PleasureWhether you are a first time guest from the Mid-Atlantic, a business traveler coming into Dover on business, or a Delaware resident who would just like to spend a night in a luxurious hotel, we have everything to make your stay with us a memorable and comfortable experience.We offer a variety of room sizes and rates with discounts available for large groups. We know that you will find Dover Downs Hotel & Casino to be the perfect place for your next getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dover Downs Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dover Downs Hotel Dover
Dover Downs Hotel And Casino
Downs Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing