We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a reliable place to stay at”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dover Downs Hotel & Casino
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Allentown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not a reliable place to stay at”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I made a reservation here over a month in advance and had it confirmed and everything. Then, I get there to check in and they said my reservation had been "cancelled" and couldn't give me any more information. I never got to see the rooms or anything, so for all I know they may be really nice, but I definitely will not be making a reservation there again personally.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    263
    92
    22
    31
See reviews for
173
395
51
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The food is gross. Its processed food … probably frozen and then reheated. If you are going to eat the food, stick with food they make in front of you … like an omelet. The next day, we ended up going to a Mexican restaurant close by which was much better. The rooms were ok. The TV in our room was not a flat screen and no high definition….. we assume this is a standard feature in all hotels. The bed was uncomfortable (too soft maybe)…. My husband and I both woke up with a backaches. The bar was not great. The bar tender had trouble making me an apple martini. They had music but no dance floor. The spa was nice and clean. My husband and I would NOT return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colerain, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband surprized me with a quick getaway after Thanksgiving to Dover Downs for our first visit. We were unable to stay at their hotel but still had a great experience. The facilities are emaculent. The staff are very cordial and customer oriented. We are M Life members and they were very helpful with setting us up with their program. The buffet was great. The gaming experience was wonderful. They have a multitude of games and a large variety of what we like to play. It's great that they have a smoke free environment and self serve soda fountain. There are numerous hotels in the area if the casino hotel is full. Numerous shopping venues in the area and only forty minutes from Rehobeth outlets. Five hour drive from home but well worth it. This will impact Atlantic City. Dover Downs is well worth your time.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobbs Creek, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I have been to this hotel several different times... The rooms are always dirty, every time... The bath room has hairs on the floor, soap scum in the shower and soap dish... floors appear that they have never seen a vacuum cleaner.... I have contacted the Hotel, but nothing ever changes.. I love the Casino and all amenities, and I will go back; but I will also bring some spray shower cleaner and maybe clean it myself before using.... One time I can understand... maybe.... but every time is a bit much!!

Room Tip: I do not know about rooms above the 7th floor, but I do know rooms on 5,6 & 7 are almost always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I love the private entryway into the suites, makes you feel like a star! We stayed during the summer of 2012 so the date on the header is off, but we had an amazing room! Sleep number bed, massage chair, whirlpool bath, a bathroom mirror that turned into another tv!! MY OH MY the list of great stuff goes on. If you afford the price, it is well worth the visit. Casino is nice, smoke free, great food choices, excellent table games (non-weekend limits). They have live harness racing (seasonal) but no one goes sadly. They could do a better job in pointing out where the racetrack part of the plant is.

Room Tip: Every suite is quiet and private, rooms facing trackside is where the sun rises
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My husband and I decided to visit Dover Downs because of the Package and Stay deals. I found the ad in a local newspaper - for $49 for one night you get $50 in free slot play, free valet service, discounts at the spa, and 2 free breakfast buffets. We usually go to Atlantic City, but we decided to give this deal a try and we were not disappointed. The hotel room was very nice. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom is a nice sized room, the bed covers were very warm, and everything was very clean. And I love when the casino hotel has a safe. The player's club ladies were very nice and professional. The swimming pool was open, but I did not get a chance to use it. The casino is smoke free and clean. My husband and I had a nice time here at Dover Downs and will return at a later time.

Green Features: The casino is smoke free. The hotel tells you about keeping towels for days instead of washing them every day to conserve on laundry products and water.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsRef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had a great stay at Dover Downs. We could not have had a better time. The rooms were wonderful....clean, spacious, and well appointed. The beds were very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The casino was spotlessly clean and smoke free, which we liked. If we return to Dover, this will be where we stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BURGESS-IN-VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
2.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Dover
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dover
0.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dover Downs Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dover Downs Hotel & Casino

Property: Dover Downs Hotel & Casino
Address: 1131 N Dupont Hwy, US Route 13, Dover, DE 19901-2008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dover
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dover
#5 Business Hotel in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dover Downs Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA ranked Dover Downs Hotel & Casino as a premier Four Diamond property – that means our luxurious accommodations, amenities and activities give you MORE. Dover Downs Hotel & Casino offers many services that will enhance your stay – headline entertainers, state of the art gaming, live harness racing and poker, and a luxurious, South Pacific-inspired full-service spa that will leave you relaxed and looking and feeling your best. Do not forget to visit The Colonnade for our exquisite boutique shops, in addition to our award-winning restaurants, bars and lounges. At Dover Downs Hotel & Casino, we have it all!For Business and PleasureWhether you are a first time guest from the Mid-Atlantic, a business traveler coming into Dover on business, or a Delaware resident who would just like to spend a night in a luxurious hotel, we have everything to make your stay with us a memorable and comfortable experience.We offer a variety of room sizes and rates with discounts available for large groups. We know that you will find Dover Downs Hotel & Casino to be the perfect place for your next getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Dover Downs Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dover Downs Hotel And Casino
Dover Downs Hotel Dover
Downs Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing