We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dover Downs Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dover Downs Hotel & Casino
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Swineshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed here for one night on a return trip to the UK. The hotel staff are all keen to please.
The room was a good size with an extremely comfortable bed and a large en-suit.
The en-suit was large and clean, the only downside to the bathroom being the weak shower.
The hotel and casino were all very clean and 'smoke-free'.
I visited Michele's restaurant for my evening meal and it was amazing. I had the New York Strip Steak, it was beautifully cooked.
The breakfast in the morning was excellent, a really good spread.
I would recommend staying here when in Dover.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    251
    86
    20
    27
See reviews for
155
373
46
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edgewater, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I thoroughly enjoy Dover Downs. I go there often and spend the night. The rooms are always clean and I never have any problem getting the amenities I ask for. Check in has always been quick and the service is wonderful.

The casino is very nice and very clean. Plus, it is non-smoking. I like the fact that there are attendants walking through and disinfecting the machines. The slots could pay better. I think they are too tight lately. They also have numerous table games (although I'm not into that) and a poker room. I also feel safe there and have no problem walking across the parking lot to the Dover Mall at anytime.

There are several restaurants in the hotel and casino. I enjoy the Garden Cafe. The food is excellent and very reasonably priced. There is also live entertainment at various times. There is live harness racing (at particular times during the year) at the track that is connected to the hotel. Also, there are two NASCAR races at the track during the year.

I definitely recommend Dover Downs and Casino and I will continue to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms, ours overlooked the harness racetrack. The slot area is very nice. The buffet is worth every dime. TIP: pay the $5 extra at the buffet for the lobster tail and/or the filet mignon. Even the lobby is quite elegant and valet/coat check personable and efficient.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have been to Dover Downs several times for overnite stay. Pros:Check in was fine, speedy, no problems. I had reserved at a special mid-week rate. I asked for a high floor room facing the racetrack & that was no problem.Room was double, shower with tub, sep. area for coffee, fridge, desk area, room & bathroom was large & layout lovely. Cons: The furnishings were showing their age, worn-reno in order. Disappointed that the coffee & tray were obviously not cleaned.Pool & hot tub area?Either the tile flooring is stained or its just not kept clean enough. Breakfast buffet is OK.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiMumz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Love the hotel! If only I could get them to leave those heavy, heavy duvet covers off the bed! Other than that, the rooms are large, well decorated and comfortable. I agree with some others that the staff could afford to be a little friendlier. The only ones who have a smile are the drink servers and I guess that's because smiles get tips.
And always enjoy the casino, though sometimes more than others. Always a fun trip.

Room Tip: Have not had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank macioci15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near DC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

The location of this property is not exactly glamorous. It is surrounded by strip malls and dead store-fronts. But once you are in the casino, it's not bad. Our view was right over the racetrack, which was interesting. It would be amazing if there was some activity there! The room was clean and comfortable, but it really smelled rather bad. I keep a little spray from Bed Bath and Beyond with me at all times though, so that was easily dealt with. But without it, the smell was a bit overpowering. The room was large, and the bathroom was surprisingly nice even though it just had a standard tub/shower. The bed was comfortable for a hotel bed, but not a super-deluxe model.

The casino decor is attractive. Not opulent, but big and airy. The slots are pretty tight, and I think they are rigged so you can't win big with free slot credit. We tested it several times and we lost, lost, lost with free-play, but started winning (small wins, but still) when we fed in real money. We are just casual gamblers though, so no big deal there. Most of the staff seemed rather surly at first, but were pleasant after I was nice to them. That's better than nothing, but I didn't see any big cheerful smiles greeting people. Then again, it seemed as if many of the casino guests were grumpy and rude.

The food was OK. The breakfast buffet was outstanding one morning, just acceptable the next. We had dinner at the buffet the first night, and it was not great. The featured items were not there, the food was rough and dry and the service (dinner and breakfast) was HORRIBLE. It was clear that they are staffed by lazy employees doing everything they could to hide from their areas. So, there was no one at the carving station or the stir-fry station, and the lines were long at the few staffed stations. There was a risotto station, which seemed crazy, since risotto takes 18 minutes to make. Overall though, the food at DD is not too bad, and is inexpensive.

We will go back just because it's so close to our house. It makes a nice weekend trip, but I would not recommend this as a distant destination. Better to go to Atlantic City if you are traveling from afar or if you really want to win at the slots.

Room Tip: The race-track view is fun, even if it's off season. Plus they are completely private-feeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I spent a night at the hotel while on a bus trip to the casinos in Delaware. I was pleased. The room and bathroom was clean, comfortable, nicely decorated and large. Our room faced the Dover Downs race track.

The breakfast buffet had a nice variety of food and was enjoyable.

For those who do not like to gamble, there are retail stores, a mall and restaurants that are conveniently located near the hotel.

All in all I enjoyed the hotel and would like to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flame21206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dover
2.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Dover
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dover
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dover
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dover Downs Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dover Downs Hotel & Casino

Property: Dover Downs Hotel & Casino
Address: 1131 N Dupont Hwy, US Route 13, Dover, DE 19901-2008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dover
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dover
#5 Business Hotel in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dover Downs Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA ranked Dover Downs Hotel & Casino as a premier Four Diamond property – that means our luxurious accommodations, amenities and activities give you MORE. Dover Downs Hotel & Casino offers many services that will enhance your stay – headline entertainers, state of the art gaming, live harness racing and poker, and a luxurious, South Pacific-inspired full-service spa that will leave you relaxed and looking and feeling your best. Do not forget to visit The Colonnade for our exquisite boutique shops, in addition to our award-winning restaurants, bars and lounges. At Dover Downs Hotel & Casino, we have it all!For Business and PleasureWhether you are a first time guest from the Mid-Atlantic, a business traveler coming into Dover on business, or a Delaware resident who would just like to spend a night in a luxurious hotel, we have everything to make your stay with us a memorable and comfortable experience.We offer a variety of room sizes and rates with discounts available for large groups. We know that you will find Dover Downs Hotel & Casino to be the perfect place for your next getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Dover Downs Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dover Downs Hotel And Casino
Dover Downs Hotel Dover
Downs Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing