We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Travelzoo Trip to Dover Downs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dover Downs Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dover Downs Hotel & Casino
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Malvern, PA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Travelzoo Trip to Dover Downs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had a great experience and couldn't beat the Travelzoo price for a stay at Dover Downs. The only complaint we had was that check-in time was 4:00 and our room wasn't ready until 5:30. They were kind enough to hold our luggage until our room was ready so we could walk around. My husband took advantage of the Toppers Spa and had a great experience. Our room was trackside and offered views of the track although it wasn't aesthetically appealing. The buffet was good for a buffet, nothing grand. The room was nice and the bathroom was quite large. We spent some time at the casino and some time watching the harness racing. Overall a nice little getaway for my husband and I. Definitely would not recommend taking kids although we saw a couple of kids there with their parents in the hotel lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the elevators as it is quite a walk to some rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cancunaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    203
    72
    18
    20
See reviews for
103
312
34
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis,MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and I had a very nice stay recently. The room was large and clean and the bathroom was huge. We enjoyed three meals at the buffet...dinner was the best of the three, with a lot of seafood, soft shell crabs, and other great choices.Unfortunately some dishes were overcooked at each meal. We watched harness racing in the evening, and then enjoyed the casino for a few hours. Even though we are not big gamblers, it was fun. The hotel staff couldn't have been nicer. We plan to go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a trackside room...more to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mesgps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a very nice stay at Dover Downs. The room was very spacious and clean.The beds were clean and comfortable. When we called housekeeping for more pillows, they arrived in just a few minutes. They had a nice indoor pool,( 3.5 ft deep) and it was clean as well as the exercise room. There were a few pieces of exercise equipment not alot , but it was very well laid out. they also had steam rooms,( ladies and mens).We enjoy our stay and have already booked another room later in May.The hotel lobby was extremely clean and well lit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank airflow313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Rec'd this as a gift, we were visiting relatives in Dover. We arrived around 2 pm, were told we couldn't check in until after 4 pm. Had to meet relatives prior to freshening up then check back later to check in. Average room. Large bathroom. Just nothing great about it. We're not gamblers, perhaps that's just the biggest draw about Dover Downs. And parking is difficult - we don't prefer valet parking and always had to drive around and around to find an available parking spot in the lot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deeds13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Have been going to Dover Downs since they opened, even before they had a hotel. The addition of the hotel, and the later addition to the hotel, make the place a nice place to relax and play for a few days. While one has to drive to see any other local attractions, the restaurants at the Hotel and Casino are ample and offer a variety of food choices. The buffet has been greatly upgraded since the early days, so if you haven't tried it recently, give it another chance. The Garden Cafe is also adequate and extremely reasonable in price. Still love their Strawberry Fantasy, and have found several new items on the menu that I enjoy very much. The hotel rooms are always clean and well kept although if your room is in the addition to the hotel, you could be some distance from the elevator. Be sure to ask for a room close to the elevators if you have any physical limitations. The front desk is always very respectful of any requests we make and fulfills any reasonable requests with no hassel. All in all, a few days at Dover Downs is still a fun experience. Our latest trip in January was great, and the hotel even upgraded us to a suite, and we look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the elevators if you have physical limitations,, and, if you care about the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here on a Travel Zoo voucher for one night. It was a great deal. We had a room on the track and were able to bet on horses and watch the races from our room, Overall hotel and casino were clean and service was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLC1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Used a Travelzoo offer for an overnight stay last week. There was a bit of a line for check-in with only two people working until they finally called in two more. Then the room was not ready for another hour. The room was large with a track view but was the end of the track- # 763- and as stated on other reviews not the best. The room appeared to be clean but a closer look showed a lot of dust. What was worse was hair in the shower and urine on the toilet. Nasty!!!
The Buffet was ok for dinner and breakfast, good selection. Salad bar was very good.
Casino was clean and a good variety of slots. Everyone was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyandPat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dover
2.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mainstay Suites Dover
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dover
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Dover
Residence Inn Dover
#9 of 20 in Dover
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dover Downs Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dover Downs Hotel & Casino

Property: Dover Downs Hotel & Casino
Address: 1131 N Dupont Hwy, US Route 13, Dover, DE 19901-2008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dover
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dover
#5 Business Hotel in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dover Downs Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA ranked Dover Downs Hotel & Casino as a premier Four Diamond property – that means our luxurious accommodations, amenities and activities give you MORE. Dover Downs Hotel & Casino offers many services that will enhance your stay – headline entertainers, state of the art gaming, live harness racing and poker, and a luxurious, South Pacific-inspired full-service spa that will leave you relaxed and looking and feeling your best. Do not forget to visit The Colonnade for our exquisite boutique shops, in addition to our award-winning restaurants, bars and lounges. At Dover Downs Hotel & Casino, we have it all!For Business and PleasureWhether you are a first time guest from the Mid-Atlantic, a business traveler coming into Dover on business, or a Delaware resident who would just like to spend a night in a luxurious hotel, we have everything to make your stay with us a memorable and comfortable experience.We offer a variety of room sizes and rates with discounts available for large groups. We know that you will find Dover Downs Hotel & Casino to be the perfect place for your next getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Dover Downs Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dover Downs Hotel Dover
Dover Downs Hotel And Casino
Downs Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing