We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun overnight getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dover Downs Hotel & Casino
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fun overnight getaway”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Gambling is not our thing, but we got a Travelzoo deal for an overnight stay with all meals, so we thought we'd give this a shot. It turned out to be a very good move. The hotel is great - rooms are comfortable and staff friendly. The buffet offered excellent variety, and the food was fairly tasty and somewhat better than we have experienced in similar establishments. The added bonus was that the restaurant overlooks the racetrack and we were able to watch several trotting races while we ate - very entertaining. The hotel has a quite nice indoor pool, hot tub and steam rooms - all deserted while we were there mid-week. The casino offers everything a gambling fan would need - we found the simplest of penny slots and made a very small amount of money last for several hours - very cheap entertainment.

The attached Toppers Balinese Spa is very nice, but my wife, who had a massage and has knowledge of these things, said it was pretty pricey.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kost1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    254
    88
    20
    29
See reviews for
162
387
48
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Had a discount voucher for an overnight stay and was pleasantly surprised. The room on the 7th floor was spacious and clean with a view of the track(harness racing at this time of the year). The bathroom was spacious and instead of the obligatory tub with shower there was a really large tiled shower with glass doors that looked like it could fit 4 people comfortably. Room was clean and quiet. The casino was.....a casino, nothing outstanding. The buffet was actually very good. Many choices that were fresh and not tired and left over, they will also tailor what you request at the hot buffet, adding vegetables, cheeses etc. and many kinds of omelets for breakfast. The waitstaff was quick to refill your beverage also.
Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mariahcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnpinva
Level Contributor
265 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Dover Downs is a nice hotel that provides comfortable overnight accommodations for guests wishing to gamble. It offers little more. For what it is, I'd recommend staying here, especially if you are able to get the Travelzoo special. That is a good deal. I would not recommend this hotel as a romantic getaway, or a weekend to splurge.

There is little else to do here (besides gambling), and the gym doesn't cut it. The pool and hot tub are not appealing. The mall next store looks like it's facing tough economic times, with very little to offer. The casino is pretty good, but it cannot compare to the best Atlantic City or Las Vegas casinos. Buffet (included with the travelzoo special) was ok, but choose your hot items carefully. Breakfast buffet was better than dinner buffet. Service was good. Hallways and lobby areas are very pleasant. Gelato in the casino area was great and good value!

The track view rooms are very clean, have comfortable beds, and pleasant bathrooms. Views of the race track were not as expected - not very aesthetically pleasing. Drapes are a very odd color, as is the shower curtain. Decorations are more suited to an older demographic. Wallpaper in all the rooms and the furniture and chairs are not attractive. TV is good with a good channel selection. Water pressure in the bathroom shower could be better. Sink and vanity were both ample.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dnpinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have stayed here three or four times. Every time has been very good. Great service, they always seem to be able to "upgrade" our room purchase when we arrive. Rooms are clean and neat. Quick check in and check out, can't say enough. Love this place. Wish all hotels had this kind of service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I loved the casino and hotel room. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and clean. The little shops are nice, especially the sweet shop. Stay away from the buffet even if you have comps. Go to the oyster bar. We will return to stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsutdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchton, MD
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The room was very clean and comfortable. Nice large bathroom and nice view of the race track. Could view the harness racing from the hotel room. No complaints at all about this property. Linens are exceptionally clean and the hotel uses cotton duvet covers instead of bedspreads, which adds to the cleanliness factor. Individual heat controls in the rooms. Nice large flat screen tv and mini fridge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seaglassgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My beef was more with the so called deal I bought with travelzoo. 108 for a room and buffet passes during a weeknight. Turns out that I could have gotten the room for 59 and passed on the yuckie buffet. But I loved the hotel! Staff was awesome! Casino was great too! Would def go back and skip travelzoo next time!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sullivakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dover
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
2.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dover
0.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dover Downs Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dover Downs Hotel & Casino

Property: Dover Downs Hotel & Casino
Address: 1131 N Dupont Hwy, US Route 13, Dover, DE 19901-2008
Location: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dover
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dover
#5 Business Hotel in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dover Downs Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA ranked Dover Downs Hotel & Casino as a premier Four Diamond property – that means our luxurious accommodations, amenities and activities give you MORE. Dover Downs Hotel & Casino offers many services that will enhance your stay – headline entertainers, state of the art gaming, live harness racing and poker, and a luxurious, South Pacific-inspired full-service spa that will leave you relaxed and looking and feeling your best. Do not forget to visit The Colonnade for our exquisite boutique shops, in addition to our award-winning restaurants, bars and lounges. At Dover Downs Hotel & Casino, we have it all!For Business and PleasureWhether you are a first time guest from the Mid-Atlantic, a business traveler coming into Dover on business, or a Delaware resident who would just like to spend a night in a luxurious hotel, we have everything to make your stay with us a memorable and comfortable experience.We offer a variety of room sizes and rates with discounts available for large groups. We know that you will find Dover Downs Hotel & Casino to be the perfect place for your next getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Dover Downs Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dover Downs Hotel And Casino
Dover Downs Hotel Dover
Downs Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing