We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location”
Review of Hampton Inn Dover

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Dover
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Dover
NJ
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Location, location”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel is located on Route 13 in Dover and is surrounded by pavement. The only reason to stay there is location. It is convenient to Delaware State, Dover Speedway, Dover Downs, and Wesley College, among other things.

The rooms are on the small side. The room was sufficient for my 13 year old and me, but I think a family of 4 would kill one another in the limited space. While small, the room was very clean, the furnishings appropriate and in good condition, the beds comfortable. The bathrooms, however, are large for hotels of this type.

The breakfast, which is included in the rate, was more than adequate. It included scrampled eggs, hash browns, breakfast meat, hot and cold cereal, fruit and fruit salad and yogurt. Coffee and non-alcoholic drinks were available all day and free cookies after 3.

The pool is outdoors and quite small. 5 feet at its deepest. The hotel had noodles for the kids (We were there for a tournament) to use and was reasonable about allowing the kids to use the pool after its official closing time because the parents were present.

The staff was friendly and very helpful. The refrigerator in our room was not working on check-in, but one call to the desk and it was replaced immediately with a working unit. We didn't have a microwave in our room, nor did any of the families with which we were travelling. When our boys finished playing late, the staff had menus for restaurants that would deliver and the names of places that would be open late and appropriate for adolescents.

The only criticism I have is that the fitness room is really small and the treadmill was not working the weekend we were there.

On the whole, our experience at this Hampton Inn was unquivocably positive and I wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your Trip Advisor response. We always appreciate your comments so that we may improve. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Cindy-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    121
    65
    39
    17
See reviews for
114
117
30
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
510 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed here one night on our way to other destinations. Hotel was very nice;
Great staff, very friendly. A little hard to find, it is behind another hotel. Rate was very good. On the main road through Dover.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank califken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your Trip Advisor response. We always appreciate your comments as they help us to improve. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Cindy-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed July 13 -14 and the hotel is conveniently located and easy to find. Room was rather small with a microwave, refrigerator. The room was fully stocked and clean. The air conditioner was a little loud but worked great. Complimentary breakfast was until 10am and was the Hampton Inn breakfast you expect, eggs, sausage, make your own waffle, ceral, fruit etc. The staff at breakfast was helpful and even kept out the cold items (bagels, muffins, donuts etc) longer than 10am so those that came down late didnt get turned away with nothing. As always the 24 hour complimentary coffee & tea is a plus. The staff was very friendly and helpful. If in the area again I would definately stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your trip advisor response. We always appreciate your comments as they help us to improve. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Cindy-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed here on June 21st and 22nd for a wedding. The room was nice and the beds were comfortable. Close to many places to eat. The most important aspect for us was being able to bring our dog along. Our 75 lb German Shepherd was very well recieved by the staff. There was plenty of room to take him to do his duty and get some exercise. Like I said, the staff was awesome. Young man at the front desk (his name started with Al...) was very nice. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanMeg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your trip advisor response. We always appreciate your comments as they help us to improve. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Cindy-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
135 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

As always with Hampton Inn the hotel is consistent with their standards. Good service!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your trip advisor response. We always appreciate your comments as they do help us to improve. I assure you that the foot stool has seen many pairs of feet and we will be making some upgrades in the very near future. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Cindy-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We have tried several different hotels in Dover, mostly with prior reservations, but this time it was without that. We decided to try here, and are happy we did. Again, a good room with great beds. I love the duvet covers on their beds instead of blankets. Nice service at check in, free 24 hours robust coffee that actually tasts better than most US coffee to me as an European, good free breakfast with eggs, waffels etc, free well working internet in room, all for less than $100 before taxes. It is on the main strip, but the only restaurant in walking distance is at a hotel next door that looked somewhat expensive. But with a car there are lots of options down the road. Only small complaint would be that the footstool to the armchair was a bit tired, but I guess that it had seen many pairs of shoes etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polarlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptondover, Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Guest Satisfaction is our top priority at the Hampton Inn. We appreciate your feedback and we are glad that you found the Hampton beds nice, and our breakfast tasty. The comfort, satisfaction and trust of our guests are very important to us, and we extend our sincere apologies in regards to the footstool in the room. We will ensure that we will review this situation and make the proper adjustments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ny
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Most Hampton Inns are very clean and well kept. This motel was an exception. There were cigarette butts all around the entry grounds, the lobby and room smelled very musty and the bathroom had hairs on the floor. The bed was comfortable and everything did work, but it just didn't have that "clean" feeling that most Hampton Inns have. Also, the Walmart that had been next door was boarded up Clerks not overly friendly or helpful and price higher than most. I won't be back here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptondover, Owner at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Guest Satisfaction is our top priority at the Hampton Inn. We appreciate your feedback and are glad that you found the Hampton Signature beds comfortable. Since it is our expressed commitment to make every guest experience an enjoyable one, it is very frustrating when our guests experience any discomfort. The comfort, satisfaction and trust of our guests are very important to us, and we extend our sincere apologies. We have taken note and will make sure that the cigarette butt issue be addressed in the outside area and the air quality as well. In regards to the closed WalMart, they recently opened a brand new Super Walmart within 2 miles from the hotel. They do plan on occupying the old space with new and exiciting brands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
3.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Dover
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover
5.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dover
1.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Dover

Property: Hampton Inn Dover
Address: 1568 N Dupont Hwy, Dover, DE 19901-2215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Dover 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Dover Hotel Dover
Dover Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing