We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to update”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My Husband and I stayed here for a weekend in March 2014. We got a good rate from Citi Credit Card. Unfortunately, the hotel needs to be updated. Not sure what the building was before, but it seemed like it still needs a lot of work. No vent system in bathroom, water pressure very low and blow dryer barely worked. 2 small waste cans in room. Wi-Fi was soooo bad as well as the TV channel selections (no guide and HBO stations sometimes). The mini refrigerator was incased in a wooden structure that would not close all the way. Maid could have cleaned the room a little better. No vacuum was run and nothing was wiped down. Bed was just made and towels and toilet paper were replenished. Worst part of all was that we were next to the elevator and could hear it go up and down every time it was used!! Best part of the stay was having the breakfast included in our package, but you had to get there between 6:30 AM & 9:30 AM. Seems a little early!!!! Not the worst stay we have had but not one of the best.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soapby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear soapby,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad you liked our convenient location. However, I am sorry you found some aspects of our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 173 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

Rooms are pretty clean. The bathroom fixtures could use a good cleaning. Nothing special. We only stayed one night. Typical Holiday Inn breakfast. Staff was fine. Not overly friendly but nice. It's located right off the highway easy to find.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kat333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Kat333,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We are delighted to read you found our location convenient. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note of your valuable comments and we will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product and service we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great Customer Service! The clerk at the counter offered us late check out since we were a member of IHG. The room was clean, comfortable bed, great breakfast. we had forgotten our wine opener and the night clerk had found one for us! Great Staff Great Stay! Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancyhoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed two nights and was very pleased with the rooms, pillows are great, very quite and the breakfest is the best..Will stay again. The only negative I would say is that the elevator was freezing cold.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here on our way to NYC for the weekend. Nice upgrade to suite - surprised by the nice decor throughout. Only down side was our nicely refurbished room still had the same old jacuzzi - it showed its age. Neither of us slept very well but it may have been the nerves knowing we had to get up early in order to catch a train to NYC. The staff was wonderful and helpful and the morning buffet tasty. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were very tired after a long day of travel and were happy with our accommodations. The property is located very close to several restaurant choices. The breakfast was excellent and the choices were varied. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilenemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night, Saturday Oct. 12, while attending college homecoming. Nice clean room, comfortable queen size beds, free WiFi, with a very impressive breakfast included!!! Will definitely stay at HIE again!!!! :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lfo1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
3.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Dover
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 20 in Dover
150 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dover Downs Hotel & Casino
2.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover

Address: 1780 North Dupont Hwy, Dover, DE 19901-2219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Price Range: $92 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Dover rests just inside the first state's capital, minutes from downtown and Delaware Bay. While there is plenty do in town, we're also less than an hour from popular Rehoboth Beach outlets and gorgeous beaches along the Atlantic seaboard. Discover the Mid-Atlantic area and Dover as our hotel's guests. This hotel in Dover, Delaware is conveniently located off Route 1 and close to P&G, Kraft Foods, ILC and other major corporations. Delaware State University, Dover Air Force Base and state government offices are also nearby. Patrons staying with us can use free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour Business Center to stay connected. Spend a day in old downtown, lounging on Dover Green and shopping tax-free at local boutiques. At night, head over to Dover Downs Casino for exciting table games, slots and racing. For outdoor recreation, you can hike or bike through Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge and visit Killen Pond State Park to boat and swim. Both are less than 15 minutes from our hotel's location. After sightseeing in Dover, Delaware, unwind in our hotel's pool. The 24-hour Fitness Center is perfect for keeping up with your workouts. The breakfast room has a large flat panel TV, so you can catch the morning news as you savor a free, hot meal. Book your room today for our consistently excellent customer service and quality amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dover Hotel Dover
Holiday Inn Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing