We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Dover

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Express Dover
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed one night, because we we're going to the Dover Downs Casino. This hotel was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and the continental breakfast was great!! We will definitely stay again the next time we are in Dover!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nichole24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayexdover, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dover, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for the kind words and taking the time to do a review on us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to having you stay with us again!!

Best regards,

Tad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    61
    23
    4
    7
See reviews for
44
44
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Me and husband stayed at this Hotel for our anniversary on March 1 thru March 3, 2013. When we first arrived at the hotel we were very inpressed of the exterior and the interior. The staff were very pleasant and made us feel very welcomed like we were apart of their family. The hotel smelled so fresh and clean. We didn't have to wait long to be check in and that was a plus. When we arrived on our floor it smelled so good just like when we walked in the front door. I have to say our room was just as we expected very clean and comfortable. We had a mini king size suite with a whirlpool bath that we could enjoy after whatever activity we decided to do whether it was working out in the fitness center, shopping at the mall or just needed to unwind. This hotel is where we would stay again when we visit Dover. We have no complaints at all. We loved it. It was very quiet on the floor that we thought we were the only ones on the floor. If you are ever in Dover, Delaware try staying at the Holiday Inn Express you would love it.

Room Tip: If you just want to escape from the kids and it's not to far from where you live try staying at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hope597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Upon initial entrance I was greeted by a very personable and knowledgable reception staff. They went out of their way to accommodate any requests we had. A last minute decision to book another night turned out well. As a PC member we were given a late check-out 2pm and Our room transfer was seamless. The King sized room was more than adequate, however the cleanliness of the rooms were not up to par. Looking forward to a jacuzzis bubble bath was "No Bueno" the tub was filthy... Spot cleaned for sure, however the fixtures were saturated with lime scale and the tub and jet areas were caked. Appears that the tub had never been adequately scrubbed on a continual basis. The maid service came back and spot cleaned again, I even purchased lime scale products to clean, but it was too much. So we had to use only the shower:-(

It is located very close to, Dover Downs Casino, Walmart, Bob Evans and many other food places are less than a 3 minute drive away. There is also a shuttle available from 4pm-2am to the casino. The breakfast area seemed well equipped/ stocked with coffee/ tea available 24 hrs.

Overall I would definitely recommend this Holiday Inn and personally go back... but please clean the tubs and fixtures adequately!!

Room Tip: Suite upgrade for less than $10 definitely worth it for the seating area and table space if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on business and have to say that it is a step above other Holiday Inn Expresses. The room decor was pretty standard, but I did have a whirlpool tub in the bathroom. I was very pleased to be greeted as a platinum member and also given a smoking room with a king-sized bed. It seems that smokers are treated as second class citizens at most hotels nowadays... The workout room was definitely better than most other hotels of this price range. It offered two treadmills, an elliptical trainer, stationary bike, a few cable machines and and ab workout area with medicine balls. I will add that one of the treadmills was broken during my stay.

Aside from that, my only complaint was that the fan on the wall mounted air conditioner would not stay on constantly. This may not be a big deal for some people, but it is to me. Overall, I give it five stars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrington, DE
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here! The front desk was very nice and helpful. The hotel was very clean. My room was a suite and it was very clean. The bed was very comfortable. The next morning there was a great breakfast: eggs, bacon, sausage, sausage gravy and biscuits. If you wanted pancakes, it was just a push of a button. Someone was constantly monitoring the food and everything was well stocked. I would be more than willing to stay here once again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbeauch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I had a GREAT stay at this hotel... I could not believe the GREAT amenities that we recieved for the GREAT price we paid. We had a tub with jets in it, a full breakfast, clean hotel, great service... and much much more.. The GM was very nice and helpful.. I look forward to returning to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Try a King Executive Suite.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tpenny67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here for a 'staycation' with the hubby. Booked last minute too, so the room had 2 queens, still not a bad price compared to other quality places near by (Sheraton, Hilton...)
Despite being near another hotel and the hwy the room was quiet and clean. The lobby was done up in the modern style, large art, rounded furnature etc. The room had no closet but that was to make space for the microwave, mini frig and extra sink. Bed was firm w a pllow toper. Minutes away from the casino, mall, and anything else you may need. Overall very happy and would stay again!.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Demented_One_777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
1.4 mi away
Dover Downs Hotel & Casino
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dover
3.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 20 in Dover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mainstay Suites Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dover

Property: Holiday Inn Express Dover
Address: 1780 North DuPont Highway, Dover, DE 19901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Dover 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dover is conveniently located just minutes from Dover Downs slots and race track, Dover AFB, Delaware State University, Wesley College, and all state government offices. Hotel features include a complimentary hot deluxe breakfast, free high-speed Internet, fitness room, business facilities, and meeting room space. Visit Dover, DE and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dover Hotel Dover
Holiday Inn Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing