We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Rooms and Price, but computer glitches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dover Downtown
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Rooms and Price, but computer glitches”
Reviewed April 26, 2010

We made our reservations through “Name your Own Price” on Priceline. With this, you will need to call the hotel to be sure you have the room type you desire (king, double beds, etc.) I called right after I made the reservation to specifically reserve a King, Non-smoking, the gentlemen at the desk updated my room type. I called the next day to let them know that we would be arriving late in the evening, they said no problem and stated that they had us down for a King, Smoking. I was quick to correct them that we needed a non-smoking room. I simply thought that perhaps the first staff member forgot to save the updates from my first call…..until, we arrived there. And as I was signing the paperwork, I saw that AGAIN we were slated for a smoking room. After I explained the situation and my calling repeatedly, they were able to find us a Non-smoking, Double bed, handicap accessible room…whew! Double beds I can deal with, but smoke smells I can not. There is obviously some type of problem with their reservation system.

Other than that, the rooms and bathrooms were nicely decorated and updated and clean. We have a super comfy bed at home, so for us the beds and pillows were not the most comfortable, but still decent.

All in all, I would stay here again, but this time I would ask for them to send me email confirmation of my room type :-) So, when you reserve, be sure to double and triple check your room type if that is important to you…

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jrobins3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    36
    38
    13
    13
See reviews for
38
42
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

List by holiday inn as a new hotel but in fact remodeled hotel that was refurbished in late 2009. room are renovated but show some signs of their previous hotel , old doors etc but generally refurbished to a high standard. When i visited hotel had only just reopened so Restaurant bar etc was not open. It is a no frill establishment but due to the refurb is very clean and tidy and good standard., plenty of places to eat locally and Dover Casino is close by. Good place to stay for a stop over or if visiting Dover downs not worth staying more that a couple of nights as very little to do in the local area.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevep5553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
197 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

The hotel was recently a howard johnsons. When it was it a total dump. They did a fantastic job remodeling. The place was clean and up to date. The only draw back was the restaurant didn't open until 7 . If that was bad enough the kitchen staff was late and didn't get it open until well after 7.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsupportRonPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesquehoning, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

Recently remodeled and beautiful! We were in town for 1 night for a family funeral. Had to go back for a second consecutive night to handle family business. Staff was Ultra friendly and honored our EVERY request.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luvtheflsun
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2009

We just stayed in this hotel this past weekend. It was a very nice hotel and I would recommend it to everyone - just not on a weekend it is going to snow. Granted, we showed up on blizzard 2009 weekend but it should have never taken us 2 hours to get out of the parking lot. When my husband went to the front desk t inquire aboutt them clearing the lot he was offered the maintenance shovel. He had to shovel the car out - get in try to drive it 3 feet, get out and shovel again all the way out to Rte. 13. My husband has a bad back and is in a significant amount of pain today - also, this caused us to be later getting to the opportunity to get on an earlier flight - instead of staying 14 hours in the airport.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvtheflsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Just stayed at the Holiday Inn in Dover. This hotel is brand new. Restaurant wasn't open yet. The staff said about two weeks away. Lobby was beautiful. Our room was clean and inviting. Staff seemed friendly. I would defintely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmanley17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dover
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dover
1.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Dover
0.9 mi away
Dover Downs Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dover Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dover Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Dover Downtown
Address: 561 N Dupont Hwy, Dover, DE 19901-3960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dover Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary Holiday Inn Dover - Downtown hotel places you near the area's best attractions and most prominent businesses. This hotel is located near Dover Downs International Speedway/Casino and Dover Air Force Base. We are proud to offer military and government travelers their own special rate. Our hotel's business travelers appreciate our modern facilities, which boast an on-site business center with print, copy and fax services. We also have meeting rooms that total more than 2800 square feet of event space. If you're looking for a hotel in Dover, Delaware near businesses search no more, since these businesses are just a short drive from our property. If you prefer the outdoors, visit Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge or the beach at Cape Henlopen State Park. If you are searching for a hotel in Dover, Delaware with great amenities, you'll be pleased to note that we offer free high-speed Internet access in each room. And, you're sure to enjoy a delicious meal at our on-site eatery, or a relaxing drink in the lounge. We also have an outdoor seasonal pool and a fitness center, so you can unwind after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Dover Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dover Downtown Hotel Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing