We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms and clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dover Downtown
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice rooms and clean!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The location won me over because its close to the start line for the Amish Century Bike ride. The staff was efficient and nice. Our room was very nicely decorated and comfortable. There are washers and dryers down the hall (coin operated) free wifi and breakfast! Pretty good for the cost!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uspinuwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We are delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Holiday Inn Dover Downtown. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    36
    37
    13
    12
See reviews for
38
42
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
OrlandoM
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed on our way from Virginia Beach to Connecticut. When we checked in the front desk was so busy socializing with each other they ignored us. The room was very clean and sleeping was difficult as the window shade did not block the light. I know it is only a 3 star hotel, but I expected more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrlandoMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear OrlandoMJ,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We are sorry the service you received from our hotel staff and room accommodations was less than satisfactory. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, we do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The room was fine, very clean looking. The cable did not work very well only a few stations came in which if your staying in Dover you may find to be an issue as there is very little to do besides watch TV.

My other major complaint is that when we booked they advertised a complimentary breakfast. However, when we woke up hungry at 7 am we were forced to look elsewhere for food as there was no complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Dan L,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our property. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class service to our guest. We apologize we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My friend's alternator died and we were stranded in Dover. Deb L. came to the rescue of the four of us who had been made homeless. She expedited the check in process and reassured us that the rest of our stay would be pleasant and we were in good hands. From that point on things began looking up. Rooms were clean and accommodating, the staff was courteous and friendly and we didn't want for anything. Deb L. turned misfortune into a vacation. Because of her, we will be back to enjoy the amenities. Kudos also to Patricia the waitress and Kelly from the from desk who also went the extra mile to help are stay run smoothly. I applaud this staff.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Ronald Gilliam

Room Tip: We were on the back side and I heard nothing. After a large meal at Red Lobster I walked around the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We are genuinely delighted to hear that our staff went above and beyond to assist you. We value your feedback and comments and I assure you the staff will be happy to hear what a difference they made for your stay. Thank you so much for letting us know about your experience at the Holiday Inn Dover Downtown. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times and normally is my go-to place whenever I'm in Dover. The staff at check-in is always very pleasant and I'm greeted with a smile. The rooms are a nice size and very comfy beds. You can't hear anything in the halls when you're in the room. It's always very clean and has adequate parking. It's only a couple of minutes from the casino too. I would certainly recommend this hotel for everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherryva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for continuing to choose Holiday Inn Dover Downtown when you visit Dover. Your wonderful comments have been shared with staff and management. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to make sure your future stays will continue to be pleasant ones. We know you have many options and we are delighted you choose to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed for the duration of a baseball tournament. Housekeeping was prompt and did a nice job. We loved the ice machine, washer & dryer (with soap & dryer sheet machines) and in-room coffee machine. The air conditioner was awesome! (We stayed during a heat wave) Shower water pressure was good, too. We did have tinted water one day, due to heavy rain & flooding. But it was quickly resolved. The front desk staff was helpful and pleasant each time we had a request. Comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TurquoiSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you on behalf of the management and staff for taking time out of your day to give us your feedback. We are delighted you had a pleasant experience with us and hope you choose to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Came to town for my sister's surprise 50th birthday party. This hotel has been renovated and converted from another brand(I believe it was a HoJo). The outside looks nice, but the inside is still in need of updating. We had booked through PL, so we knew we could be stuck with 1 bed, which we were. We planned for this and brought 2 blowup mattresses for the kids. Housekeeping was prompt in bring up sheets, towels and extra pillows. The cleaning of the room was disappointing. After returning to our room late the next evening, I noticed that there were still broken pieces of soap and hairs still in the tub. They also left only 3 towels and 1 less pillow than we had(had 5 towels originally). Since I could not get an answer when dialing the front desk, I went down to request the missing items. It was now close to midnight and the front desk lady was by herself. She was very pleasant and got me the extra towels, but she did not have any pillows for us. I understood that, but why would the lady making our room, leave less than what was in our room? Carpets need cleaned, or better yet replaced. They also have a sign at their front desk regarding murky water and that is was a city wide problem. My understanding is, they had the same problem months ago, and the hotel less than 1/2 mile away that my other sister stayed at did not have any problem or sign. All in all, since we received a great rate from PL, it was an average hotel. If I had paid the online listed rates, I would have been very disappointed.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and regret that we failed to meet your expectations during your stay with us. Your comments will prove helpful in our efforts to improve our services. We hope to have the chance to have you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dover
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Dover
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
3.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dover Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dover Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Dover Downtown
Address: 561 N Dupont Hwy, Dover, DE 19901-3960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dover Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary Holiday Inn Dover - Downtown hotel places you near the area's best attractions and most prominent businesses. This hotel is located near Dover Downs International Speedway/Casino and Dover Air Force Base. We are proud to offer military and government travelers their own special rate. Our hotel's business travelers appreciate our modern facilities, which boast an on-site business center with print, copy and fax services. We also have meeting rooms that total more than 2800 square feet of event space. If you're looking for a hotel in Dover, Delaware near businesses search no more, since these businesses are just a short drive from our property. If you prefer the outdoors, visit Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge or the beach at Cape Henlopen State Park. If you are searching for a hotel in Dover, Delaware with great amenities, you'll be pleased to note that we offer free high-speed Internet access in each room. And, you're sure to enjoy a delicious meal at our on-site eatery, or a relaxing drink in the lounge. We also have an outdoor seasonal pool and a fitness center, so you can unwind after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Dover Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dover Downtown Hotel Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing