We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Stay That Felt Like A Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Dover

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Dover
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Business Stay That Felt Like A Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hidden behind the Exxon and the Wendy's, I drove past it 2 times before I finally spotted it. I was early and did not expect to be able to check in but my room was ready and immaculate. The staff was very friendly without being cloying and provided all the information I needed to enjoy my stay. I walked by the pool and fitness facitlities and they seemed well kept, but I did not have an opportunity to try them out. I only had 1 issue, and it's an issue I have EVERYWHERE I have stayed in the past 2 years (not just Hiltons). I am a bath taker, a rare breed obviously, because more often than not, I return to my rooms to find my tub not cleaned properly. I am pleased to say that this only happened ONCE at the Hilton Dover!!! THANK YOU! And it was resolved within 10-minutes of my calling housekeeping. I only ate 1 dinner in the restaurant and I think they were having an off night because the bartender was the waiter and admitted that it was not his forte... and both meals served (mine and another ladies) were not up to snuff. Mine Salmon was over-cooked and I don't know what was wrong with her meal but she sent it back so, maybe a new chef was on-duty. Regardless... the manager came out and spoke to us both and made sure that our needs for resolution were met to our satisfaction. I didn't have a chance to give them another try, but the restaurant did good business during my stay so... I'd venture to say that night was an anomoly. Bottomline... The Hilton Dover is locked in as my place to stay in that area for the facility and service alone. But... add to that... it is right across from or down the road from the Mall, Dover Downs, several really good chain and local eateries (You HAVE to go to Family Restaurant) and 15-minutes from Historic Downtown Dover and Dover AFB.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadmLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    143
    38
    25
    10
See reviews for
143
139
29
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I got a King Suite, you'd think that'd be good. It was over the pool and I could hear the kids playing in the pool the whole time I was there. The room was pretty dirty and the furniture didn't want to keep it's drawers shut. You'd walk by and they'd open on their own.

The front desk staff was missing on multiple occasions. Phones ringing, people standing by the desk, nobody around.

And the breakfast staff might as well have been missing. I saw people there but they didn't bother seating anyone or taking any orders or even bothering to leave a check. Forget about getting a cup of coffee. What should have been a 15min breakfast turned in a half hour or more just from trying to flag someone down so we could pay. It's not like they were busy, there way maybe 2 or 3 tables in use.

Nothing about this is a Hilton Garden Inn except the name.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Narflar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dover, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed in our service and the appointment of your room. We strive to make every guests' stay pleasant through positive service and amenities and we will use your comments on our breakfast and front desk service as we constantly strive to meet this goal. We hope to have another opportunity to show you the quality stay you have come to expect from us should you return to our area in the future.

Thank you,
David Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I consider myself a frequent traveler and in general am very satisified by Hilton properties. I was impressed when I walked into this hotel, you can see they have spent some $ revamping the lobby. The room was pretty standard with a traditional hum when the A/C/heater ran. However, I woke up in the middle of the night to an intolerable loud sound coming from the heater. It scared me to death and I ended up turning everything off to get it to stop, which means i woke up to a fridgid room (DE in February). Upon check out I explained the issue to the front desk lady and she was very nice and comped my room (only reason they aren't getting 2 stars), but said it happens when they have a lot of rain, something about icing over something and the maintenance guy needs to defrost it essentially...she also said they haven't replaced all the units because it would cost a lot of $. I would have gladly paid for that room and more to have an uninterrupted night of sleep. I hope the management realizes this "little" issue is a big deal to travelers.

Long story short, I'd be apprehensive to stay in this hotel if ever in the area again. Also, unless you have a free breakfast coupon, I'd skip it here, have had much better HGI breakfast buffets.

Room Tip: Ask if the room A/C unit is in need of defrosting if the area has had rain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALWAYSTRAVELWELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockeysville
Level Contributor
90 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Really like this quiet safe location with excellent accommodations, good night's sleep, great knowlegeable staff. Breakfast at hotel was conveinant so that I could be on my way to sight see. Would stay here again. Wanted to stay longer.

Room Tip: Ask staff for recommendations for anything that you are looking for, directions, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce19561111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were heading south from New England to the Outer Banks on Valentine's day, and fatigue set in right around Dover. I saw that there was a Hilton Garden Inn, so decided to check out the rate. The rate was great...and they had room...and check out was not until noon.
The beds were fantastically comfortable. Just the right softness, and the sheets were comfy. The room was clean and smelled nice. OH - and the man at the front desk was SO friendly. Easy check in and check out...well appointed room, close and convenient to the highway.
But there is a down side....the walls are PAPER thin! We could overhear the conversation of the couple next door.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We waited at the desk to check in for five minutes or more while desk was on the phone. Chose this hotel because it had a whirlpool. Got suits on and ready to get in but the water was only luke warm. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjcj218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at this Hilton on Sat Feb 9th, 2013. The hotel sits back from the main hwy.,behind a gas station and a Wendy's,and there's no sign on the street. We finally found it after passing it by two times. We arrived two hours ahead of the stated check-in time,yet our room was ready. We were given free bottled water and offered freshly baked cookies prior to going to our room. The front desk receptionist was very friendly in spite of working alone and being extremely busy.She informed us that the hotel was actually sold out that night, yet she never stopped smiling. I think I would have been somewhat frazzeled! The beds were extremely comfortable and the level of firmnss could be dial adjusted. We had a great stay and did express check out the following morning. There's a continental and hot breakfast offered ,for a reasonable rate. The hotel is surrounded by several places to dine, so we opted to eat out. We will be staying at this Hilton Garden Inn again on future visits to Dover.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaVonya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
3.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Dover
1.3 mi away
Dover Downs Hotel & Casino
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Dover
Hampton Inn Dover
#10 of 20 in Dover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dover
5.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Dover

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Dover
Address: 1706 N Dupont Hwy, Dover, DE 19901-2219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dover
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dover
#5 Family Hotel in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Dover 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Dover Hotel Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing