We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the basics” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Relax Inn Dover

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Relax Inn Dover
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just the basics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This place is one of many second tier motels from the 50's and 60's that have been purchased by Indian immigrants. The model is that the family lives on site and provides decent lodging at a discount price. My experience with such places has been good.

This little motel (at least room 105) was consistent with that experience. The room was clean and they had free Wi-Fi. The transaction at check-in was through a glass partition and the couch had some discoloration but other than that, it was not much less than you would get at a Holiday Inn.

The AC was above average in cooling. It's a good deal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lawnshadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
8
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
centralia illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This motel is very small, but very nice. The outside facility is perfect; flowers, new paint, and no trash, good parking. The rooms are perfect size, has a couch, table, refrigerator, microwave. The rooms are a bit outdated but everything works; AC gets COLD! Good service, people are nice, family owned.

I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gamemaster10476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

My husband and I usually stay at name brand hotel/motels, but took a chance at this one for the Labor Day weekend. What a delight to find this small motel (w/only 16 rooms) so clean and spacious. This family run motel is "no frills" just the basics (no coffee maker or continental breakfast) but the beds were comfortable, the room had a nice scent to it and the air/heat was great. Other guess were very friendly and so was the staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dmcwcc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

I visit Delaware a few times a year...and with the economy I needed to look for a nice place to stay that was affordable....So I took a chance (because of good reviews) and boy was I surprised ....The room was roomy, and best of all CLEAN...one of the cleaneat
rooms I 've been in...Fairly new with comfortable beds...The free Wi-fY and friendly service was a plus also...I will be staying here again..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank capawana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

travelling around, and needed a hotel in Delaware.
I booked the hotel the morning for the evening. When I got there the owner wasnt there but had made sure there was someone who could let me pay and give me the key.

When I got to the room I was pleasantly surprise. It was very clean, the room was big and spacey. Everything worked well including the wifi (which has a code)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BA001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Couldn't find any affordable motels along the coast, so I decided to try inland. The Relax Inn was better than I expected: large, updated, clean rooms with sitting area and couch. Everything worked and lots of water pressure. Good wi-fi. My only complaint: no coffee pot in room. A real deal and good value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

Stayed here - friendly staff, clean room, well priced. Can't ask for much more?

This motel was probably the highlight of Delaware for me - no offence, but this is the most boring state in the US of the 48 states that I have stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilUSA2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
2.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover
1.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dover
0.8 mi away
Mainstay Suites Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 20 in Dover
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Dover
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Galaxy Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relax Inn Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax Inn Dover

Property: Relax Inn Dover
Address: 640 S Dupont Hwy, Dover, DE 19901-4518
Location: United States > Delaware > Dover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Relax Inn Dover 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Relax Inn Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing