We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My grandfather retired”
Review of Iron Gate Inn - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Iron Gate Inn
Restaurant details
Montgomery, Alabama
1 review
“My grandfather retired”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Hey yall. So please to hear such wonderful things about our food. I am one of the granddaughters of the owner. The grandchildren have recently had our own children and my grandfather decided after 37 years of serving others it was time to spend time with family and his new great grand babies. If any of you knew my grandfather the way I did you would know he wasn't into decor but more into his food which was his proud and joy. We all miss the restaurant very much. God bless yall ♥

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BethanyBrooks1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Is this Place Still Open”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Ok, I drive by here a lot, and honestly never see any cars out front, so I really don't know if this place is still open for business or not?

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsend, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Important Update-Restaurant Closed”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

An institution,here for over 40 years,which I visited in May,is closed. I checked with several locals and apparently a very sudden deciscion. Phone # says disconnected and no further information. No where to go for a KILLER Prime Rib now. $30,but what a meal!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank HonestGuyDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dinner at Iron Gate”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

The restaurant get its name from an iron gate on the wall which was purchased from a DuPont. The food is great, the service is excellent and price is right.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank DontheBomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Odd, but a great meal”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

The location doesn't complement the meal at all. Prices are a little steep, but the food is all great and you get big homestyle portions. The Prime Rib and steaks are absolutely enormous and all the seafood is to die for. Definitely a must-try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank s17young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing